On the tee

2023 British Open tee times: Starting times and pairings for Sunday's final round at Royal Liverpool


Liam Allan/R&A

Only 18 holes remain before the Champion Golfer of the Year is crowned at Royal Liverpool, although potentially we already have our answer. Brian Harman maintained a five-shot lead after 54 holes at the 151st Open Championship, having shot a two-under 69 on Saturday after making two bogeys in his first four holes. He sits at 12-under total. Cameron Young, the runner-up last year in the Open at St. Andrews, birdied two of the last four holes to shoot 66 and get to seven under par, assuring himself a spot in the final pairing on Sunday with Harman.

This is the 12th time in the last 40 years where the 54-hole leader in a major has led by at least five strokes. The leader ultimately won nine of the previous 11 times. Greg Norman in the 1996 Masters and Jean Van de Velde in the 1999 Open Championship were the two who failed to convert.

Tee times will begin 75 minutes earlier on Sunday than they did in Round 3, to leave room for a playoff if necessary. Harman and Young tee off 9:15 a.m. EDT. Viktor Hovland and Jon Rahm are in the penultimate group 10 minutes earlier at 9:05 a.m. Rahm shot 63 on Saturday to vault up 36 positions on the leaderboard.

Here is a final look at all tee times for the final round:

Tee Times (EDT/local time)


9:15 a.m./2:15 p.m.: Cameron Young, Brian Harman

9:05 a.m./2:05 p.m.: Viktor Hovland, Jon Rahm

8:55 a.m./1:55 p.m.: Jason Day, Antoine Rozner

8:45 a.m./1:45 p.m.: Tommy Fleetwood, Sepp Straka

8:35 a.m./1:35 p.m.: Shubhankar Sharma, Alex Fitzpatrick

8:25 a.m./1:25 p.m.: Tom Kim, Thomas Detry

8:10 a.m./1:10 p.m.: Matthew Jordan, Nicolai Hojgaard

8:00 a.m./1:00 p.m.: Emiliano Grillo, Rory McIlroy

7:50 a.m./12:50 p.m.: Sungjae Im, Matt Fitzpatrick

7:40 a.m./12:40 p.m.: Hideki Matsuyama, Romain Langasque

7:30 a.m./12:30 p.m.: Jordan Spieth, Max Homa

7:20 a.m./12:20 p.m.: Rickie Fowler, Min Woo Lee

7:10 a.m./12:10 p.m.: Xander Schauffele, Patrick Cantlay

7:00 a.m./12:00 p.m.: Patrick Reed, Cameron Smith

6:45 a.m./11:45 a.m.: Corey Conners, Tyrrell Hatton

6:35 a.m./11:35 a.m.: Alexander Bjork, Byeong Hun An

6:25 a.m./11:25 a.m.: Wyndham Clark, Richard Bland

6:15 a.m./11:15 a.m.: Stewart Cink, Henrik Stenson

6:05 a.m./11:05 a.m.: Guido Migliozzi, Michael Stewart

5:55 a.m./10:55 a.m.: Brendon Todd, JT Poston

5:45 a.m./10:45 a.m.: Sami Valimaki, Ryan Fox

5:35 a.m./10:35 a.m.: Jordan Smith, Rikuya Hoshino

5:20 a.m./10:20 a.m.: Thomas Pieters, Joost Luiten

5:10 a.m./10:10 a.m.: Abraham Ancer, Oliver Wilson

5:00 a.m./10:00 a.m.: Laurie Canter, Alex Noren

4:50 a.m./9:50 a.m.: Louis Oosthuizen, David Lingmerth

4:40 a.m./9:40 a.m.: Zach Johnson, Hurly Long

4:30 a.m./9:30 a.m.: Matthew Southgate, Christiaan Bezuidenhout

4:20 a.m./9:20 a.m.: Victor Perez, Adam Scott

4:10 a.m./9:10 a.m.: Kurt Kitayama, Richie Ramsay

3:55 a.m./8:55 a.m.: Thirston Lawrence, Marcel Siem

3:45 a.m./8:45 a.m.: Brooks Koepka, Scottie Scheffler

3:35 a.m.: 8:35 a.m.: Gary Woodland, Brandon Robinson Thompson

3:25 a.m./8:25 a.m.: Adrian Otaegui, Adrian Meronk

3:15 a.m./8:15 a.m.: Padraig Harrington, Robert MacIntyre

3:05 a.m./8:05 a.m.: Bryson DeChambeau, Andrew Putnam

2:55 a.m./7:55 a.m.: Scott Stallings, Zack Fischer

2:45 a.m./7:45 a.m.: Christo Lamprecht (a), Danny Willett

• • •

Is it the British Open or the Open Championship? The name of the final men’s major of the golf season is a subject of continued discussion. The event’s official name, as explained in this op-ed by former R&A chairman Ian Pattinson, is the Open Championship. But since many United States golf fans continue to refer to it as the British Open, and search news around the event accordingly, Golf Digest continues to utilize both names in its coverage.

• • •