U.S. Open 2023: Here's everyone who has qualified to compete at Los Angeles Country Club

February 11, 2023

Flag on the green with the clubhouse in the background at Los Angeles Country Club (North Course).

Bill Hornstein

Los Angeles Country Club making its debut as a major championship host provides the 2023 U.S. Open with even more excitement than it packs in an ordinary year. The North Course, designed by George Thomas in 1927 and restored by Gil Hanse in 2010, will be the 53rd different venue to hold the USGA’s signature men’s championship (June 15-18) and the first Los Angeles area course to do so since Ben Hogan won at Riviera Country Club 75 years ago.

The ability for any professional golfer or amateur with handicap index of 1.4 or less to attempt to qualify for LACC gives the U.S. Open its distinct identity. This includes those pros who’ve jump to the LIV Golf League. While prohibited from entering PGA Tour events, these golfers can compete in the U.S. Open if they have previously earned exemptions, or can play their way in via Local and Final Qualifying. Seven LIV golfers currently are exempt into the championship: Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson and Martin Kaymer (as U.S. Open winners in the last 10 years), Phil Mickelson (off his 2021 PGA Championship victory), Cameron Smith (2022 Open Championship) and Joaquin Niemann (qualifying for the 2022 Tour Championship).

In February, the USGA outlined its 24 categories for full exemptions into the championship. They included four new designations, adding the winner of the NCAA D-I men’s individual championship, the Latin America Amateur champion, the 2022 Korn Ferry Tour points leader and the top five players on the FedEx Cup points list not already in the championship as of May 23.

Entries for the U.S. Open will be accepted in late February and will close in April. Local qualifying will begin shortly after, with 18-hole contests being held at more than 100 sites around the country. Final Qualifying (36 holes) will take place at 12 sites a few weeks before the championship. Approximately half the spots in the 156-player field will be left for players to advance through Final Qualifying into the championship proper.

Here is the complete list of exemption categories and the players who have earned spots into the field for LA North—53 and counting. We’ll update this page as more golfers officially qualify.

U.S. Open exempt players

Sam Bennett (a), 4

Keegan Bradley, 2

Sam Burns, 11

Patrick Cantlay, 11

Ben Carr (a), 5

Corey Conners, 11

Joel Dahmen, 2

Bryson DeChambeau, 1

Wenyi Ding (a), 5

Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira (a), 21

Tony Finau, 11, 12

Matt Fitzpatrick, 1, 2, 11

Adam Hadwin, 2

Brian Harman, 11

Padraig Harrington, 3

Tom Hoge, 11

Max Homa, 11, 12

Billy Horschel, 11

Viktor Hovland, 11

Sungjae Im, 11

Dustin Johnson, 1, 6

Martin Kaymer, 1

Tom (Joohyung) Kim, 12

Brooks Koepka, 1, 7

K.H. Lee, 11

Shane Lowry, 8, 10

Hideki Matsuyama, 2, 6, 11

Denny McCarthy, 2

Matthew McClean (a), 5

Rory McIlroy, 2, 11, 12

Phil Mickelson, 7

Francesco Molinari, 8

Collin Morikawa, 2, 7, 8, 11

Joaquin Niemann, 11

Aldrich Poltgieter (a), 18

J.T. Poston, 11

Jon Rahm, 1, 11, 12

Justin Rose, 1

Xander Schauffele, 11, 12

Scottie Scheffler, 2, 6, 11

Adam Scott, 11

Cameron Smith, 8, 9, 11

Jordan Spieth, 1, 11

Scott Stallings, 11

Sepp Straka, 11

Justin Suh, 14

Sahith Theegala, 11

Justin Thomas, 7, 9, 11

Aaron Wise, 11

Gary Woodland, 1, 2

Tiger Woods, 6

Cameron Young, 11

Will Zalatoris, 2, 11

U.S. Open exemption categories

1. Winners of the U.S. Open the last 10 years (2013-22)

2. From the 2022 U.S. Open, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place

3. Winner of the 2022 U.S. Senior Open

4. Winner of the 2022 U.S. Amateur

5. Winners of the 2022 U.S. Junior Amateur and U.S. Mid-Amateur, and the 2022 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur)

6. Winners of the Masters Tournament (2019-2023)

7. Winners of the PGA Championship (2018-2023)

8. Winners of The Open Championship, conducted by The R&A (2018-2022)

9. Winners of The Players Championship (2021-2023)

10. Winner of the 2022 DP World Tour BMW PGA Championship

11. Those players who qualified and were eligible for the season-ending 2022 Tour Championship*

12. Multiple winners of PGA Tour events that award a full-point allocation for the FedEx Cup, from the conclusion of the 2022 U.S. Open (June 16-19) to the initiation of the 2023 U.S. Open

13. The top five players in the 2022-23 FedEx Cup standings as of May 22, 2023, who are not otherwise exempt*

14. The points leader from the 2022 Korn Ferry Tour season using combined points earned on the Korn Ferry Tour Regular Season Points List and points earned in the Korn Ferry Tour Finals*

15. The top two players from the final 2022 DP World Tour Rankings who are not otherwise exempt as of May 22, 2023**

16. The top player on the 2023 Race to Dubai Rankings as of May 22, 2023, who is not otherwise exempt**

17. The top two finishers from the 2023 DP World Tour U.S. Open Qualifying Series, who are not otherwise exempt**

18. Winner of the 2022 British Amateur (must be an amateur)

19. Winner of the 2022 Mark H. McCormack Medal (Men’s World Amateur Golf Ranking) (must be an amateur)

20. Winner of the 2023 NCAA D-I Men’s Golf Championship (must be an amateur)

21. Winner of the 2023 Latin America Amateur (must be an amateur)

22. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 point leaders and ties as of May 22, 2023

23. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 point leaders and ties as of June 12, 2023 (if not previously exempt)

24. Special exemptions selected by the USGA

*Note 1: For Exemptions F-11, F-13 and F-14, players must be considered eligible per PGA Tour regulations at the time the exemption is determined to qualify for the exemption.
**Note 2: For Exemptions F-15, F-16 and F-17, players must be in DP World Tour Membership at the time the exemption is determined to qualify for the exemption.