U.S. Open

USGA announces record-breaking entries for U.S. Open at Los Angeles Country Club

April 13, 2023

David Cannon

Heads up, Matt Fitzpatrick. Over 10,000 players are coming for your U.S. Open title.

The USGA announced Thursday that it has accepted 10,187 applications for this year’s national championship at Los Angeles Country Club’s North Course, breaking a record for most received entries for the U.S. Open.

The previous record was 10,127 for the 2014 U.S. Open at Pinehurst.

“The U.S. Open is unique in major championship golf in that the qualifying process provides thousands of professional and amateur golfers with diverse backgrounds from around the world the opportunity to follow their dream and earn a place in the field,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer John Bodenhamer. “We look forward to returning to Los Angeles for the first time in 75 years, welcoming the 156 players to the championship and showcasing the Los Angeles Country Club.”

Fitzpatrick is one of 11 former champions exempt into the field, joining Bryson DeChambeau, Dustin Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Brooks Koepka, Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Justin Rose, Jordan Spieth, Gary Woodland, and Tiger Woods. Four other past U.S. Open champs—Geoff Ogilvy, Lucas Glover, Graeme McDowell, and Webb Simpson—are registered, but will have to earn their way in through qualifying.

To be eligible to register for the U.S. Open, a player must have a handicap index not exceeding 1.4, or be a professional.

Local qualifying will begin April 17 and run through May 22 at over 109 sites across the United States and Canada. Those players who advance out of local qualifying will join a group of locally exempt players in final qualifying, which will be conducted over 36 holes at 10 sites in the U.S. and three international venues.

Below are the 52 players who have earned a spot in this year’s U.S. Open field. The tournament begins June 15.

Fully exempt, as of April 13
a-Sam Bennett
Viktor Hovland
a-Aldrich Potgieter
Keegan Bradley
Sungjae Im
Jon Rahm
Sam Burns
Dustin Johnson
Justin Rose
Patrick Cantlay
Martin Kaymer
Xander Schauffele
a-Ben Carr
Tom Kim
Scottie Scheffler
Corey Conners
Brooks Koepka
Adam Scott
Joel Dahmen
K.H. Lee
Cameron Smith
Bryson DeChambeau
Shane Lowry
Jordan Spieth
a-Wenyi Ding
Hideki Matsuyama
Scott Stallings
a-Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira
Denny McCarthy
Sepp Straka
Tony Finau
a-Matthew McClean
Justin Suh
Matt Fitzpatrick
Rory McIlroy
Sahith Theegala
Adam Hadwin
Phil Mickelson
Justin Thomas
Brian Harman
Francesco Molinari
Aaron Wise
Padraig Harrington
Collin Morikawa
Gary Woodland
Tom Hoge
Joaquin Niemann
Tiger Woods
Max Homa
J.T. Poston
Cameron Young
Billy Horschel