RBC Canadian Open

Hamilton Golf & Country Club


Tiger Woods withdraws from U.S. Open; Jason Day, Rickie Fowler among 33 others added to field

May 22, 2023

Ross Kinnaird

In a move made official, but one that is not a surprise, Tiger Woods has withdrawn from the U.S. Open. The USGA released the news Monday, along with the names of more players who are exempt into the U.S. Open next month at Los Angeles Country Club.

Woods made the cut in the Masters last month but withdrew before the third round resumed because of weather delays. Shortly thereafter, the three-time U.S. Open champion, who has played in 22 total U.S. Opens, underwent subtalar fusion surgery on his ankle, and there was no timeframe for his return to competition. His status for the remaining majors was always considered doubtful.

“The first goal is to recover and lead a much more enjoyable day-to-day life,” Woods’ manager Mark Steinberg said.

The USGA has added 33 more players to the U.S. Open field, bringing the number of fully exempt players to 84. Twenty-five players ranked inside the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking, who were not otherwise exempt, earned exemptions. Jason Day and Rickie Fowler were among the names on that list.

Tyrrell Hatton, ranked No. 18, was the highest-ranked player in the world who was not already exempt into the Open. Australian Cameron Davis vaulted to 49th in the world with his fourth-place tie last week at the PGA Championship and is now exempt into the U.S. Open.

Others from inside the top 60 are Abraham Ancer, Wyndham Clark, Harris English, Tommy Fleetwood, Ryan Fox, Russell Henley, Lucas Herbert, Si Woo Kim, Chris Kirk, Kurt Kitayama, Matt Kuchar, Adrian Meronk, Keith Mitchell, Taylor Moore, Alex Noren, Mito Pereira, Victor Perez, Thomas Pieters, Seamus Power, Patrick Reed and Adam Svensson.

The next cutoff for those ranked inside the top 60 who are not otherwise exempt will be June 12.

Eight others earned exemptions based on three categories: the top five on the current PGA Tour FedEx Cup standings (Hayden Buckley, Mackenzie Hughes, Taylor Montgomery, Andrew Putnam and Nick Taylor), the top two from the 2022 DP World Tour final points list (Thirston Lawrence, Jordan Smith), and the highest-ranked player on the current Race to Dubai rankings not otherwise exempt (Min Woo Lee).

There are still several other avenues for players to become exempt, including through the DP World Tour U.S. Open Qualifying Series. The winner of the NCAA Division I Championship will also earn an exemption, as will multiple winners of PGA Tour events over the next month.

The first of 10 U.S. final qualifiers is being played Monday in Dallas, where LIV golfers Sergio Garcia, Graeme McDowell and Branden Grace are attempting to qualify, along with a host of PGA Tour players. Ten additional 36-hole qualifiers will take place on June 5.