The CJ Cup @ Summit

The Summit Club


The Loop

Pros Are Just Like Us! (Sort of)

Jason Day showed why binoculars could be a smart addition to your golf bag this year

March 05, 2021

There's been a lot of talk about whether Bryson DeChambeau—or anyone else—will try to drive the par-5 sixth hole at the Arnold Palmer Invitational this week. But so far, it's another one of Bay Hill's par 5s that has created the strangest situation.

Jason Day launched his tee shot down the right side on Friday and. . . and . . . it never came down. Believed to be stuck in a tree, here's where things truly got interesting.

At some point, Day was handed a pair of binoculars from someone. And because using binoculars—unlike, say, a compass—is (still) allowed under the rules of golf, Day pointed that bad boy up to the tree. And wouldn't you know it, but he was able to identify his golf ball, saving him from having to re-tee. Have a look:

Day confirmed after his round that the binoculars weren't his, but maybe you should add a pair to your golf bag? OK, probably not, if you carry your own bag. Anyway, here's how Day described the situation after:

"I don't know where he got the binoculars it from, but it was actually the forever(?) that came in and zoomed in on it and I've got the ball well I don't have the ball but like I could see the Tour B XS on the logo on the side and I'm like, That's it, that's perfect," Day said. "So a little unfortunate that it got stuck up, it was literally in a nest, so I think the mama birdie's going to come back and find another egg there, so it's unfortunate, but it is what it is."

Kudos to Day for being able to make light of the situation—especially because he still made double bogey on what is playing as Bay Hill's easiest hole. After taking a drop for an unplayable lie (the more you know), Day laid up, but then missed the green with his fourth shot and failed to get up and down.

Sergio Garcia once climbed a tree at Bay Hill to play a shot, but it's probably best that Day didn't attempt that. You know, because of his injury history. And, well, mama bird.

Still, at two under, he comfortably made the cut at the event he won in 2016. And when he plays No. 16 again on the weekend, we're guessing he's going to aim a little more left.