John Deere Classic

TPC Deere Run


News & Tours

Third Time's The Charm!

PGA Championship 2022: Kramer Hickok turned a total disaster into an all-time bogey thanks to a recent rules change

May 21, 2022

There's been a lot of talk about how difficult Southern Hills' bunkers are playing this week. The darker, pebble-filled surface makes it tougher to spin the ball like the best players in the world are used to. But no matter what sand is being used, Kramer Hickok would have had a hard time navigating the situation he found himself in during Saturday's third round of the 2022 PGA Championship.

After his approach on the par-4 12th hole plugged in the face, Hickok found himself with an awkward stance. And things were just getting started.

His first attempt caromed off the lip and bounced off his right foot. Most of those watching—including CBS' announcers—initially thought Hickok would incur a two-stroke penalty for this. However, as the PGA of America's Brad Gregory explained moments later, that rule was changed ahead of 2020.

Even getting to play the ball as it lies, Hickok found himself in a tough spot with his ball up against the ridge of his footprint. His second attempt didn't get out of the bunker either, but at least it rolled down to the flat part. And like the pro that he is, Hickok stuck with it, and did this:

Incredible. Cameras caught Hickok trying to count up his shots after, but it was indeed a bogey. And a darn good one at that.

Unfortunately, the 30-year-old Texan has made a few too many other bogeys on Saturday. But at the very least, he has a pretty cool—and very unusual—highlight from competing in his first career major.