PGA Championship

Valhalla Golf Club


U.S. Open 2022: Here’s everyone who has qualified to compete at The Country Club in Brookline

June 09, 2022

Donald Miralle

The U.S. Open field is almost complete as the 122nd playing of the championship, held June 16-19 at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., draws closer. The last time the U.S. Open was at the famed club was in 1988, when Curtis Strange defeated Nick Faldo in an 18-hole playoff to win his first of consecutive U.S. Open titles.

Of course, The Country Club also hosted the 1999 Ryder Cup, when the United States made its historic comeback from a 10-6 deficit entering Sunday singels to defeat Europe, 14½-13½. Among other big events, the course also hosted the 2013 U.S. Amateur (won by Matt Fitzpatrick), the 1995 U.S. Women’s Amateur (won by Kelli Kuehne) and two other U.S. Opens—the historic 1913 event when 20-year-old amateur Francis Ouimet defeated Harry Vardon and Ted Ray in a playoff and the 1963 edition, where Julius Boros beat Arnold Palmer and Jacky Cupit in a playoff.

A year ago at Torrey Pines, Jon Rahm captured his first major championship when he made birdie on the 17th and 18th holes to shoot 67 and overcome a three-shot deficit to win the U.S. Open. He defeated Louis Oosthuizen by one and Harris English by three.

Below is the field as of Saturday, June 11. Nick Hardy was the last one into the official field. A spot was being held for the winner of this week's RBC Canadian Open if he had already won a PGA Tour event in the last 12 months, and wasn't otherwise qualified. But no players who made the cut in Canada met that criteria, so Hardy was the first off the alternate list.

Of the players in the field, 88 were exempt into the championship and 68 made it via qualifying.



Abraham Ancer, 11, 20
Ardi Arnaus, 20
Erik Barnes, Final qualifying
Andrew Beckler, Final qualifying
Sam Bennett (a), Final qualifying
Daniel Berger, 2, 11, 20
Will Besseling, 16
Fred Biondi (a), Final qualifying
Richard Bland, 20
Jonas Blixt, Final qualifying
Keegan Bradley, 20
Joseph Bramlett, Final qualifying
Hayden Buckley, Final qualifying
Sam Burns, 11, 12, 20
Brady Calkins, Final qualifying
Patrick Cantlay, 11, 12, 20
Kevin Chappell, Final qualifying
Stewart Cink, 11
Wyndham Clark, Final qualifying
Corey Conners, 11, 20
Sean Crocker, Final qualifying
Matthys Daffue, Final qualifying
Joel Dahmen, Final qualifying
Bryson DeChambeau, 1, 11, 20
Adrien Dumont de Chassert, Final qualifying
Nicholas Dunlap (a), 5
Harris English, 2, 11, 20
Tony Finau, 11, 20
Matt Fitzpatrick, 20
Tommy Fleetwood, 20
Ryan Fox, 16
Jim Furyk, 3
Luke Gannon, Final qualifying
Sergio Garcia, 11, 20
Ryan Gerard, Final qualifying
Talor Gooch, 20
Chris Gotterup, Final qualifying
Branden Grace, 2
Austin Greaser (a), 5
Keith Greene, Final qualifying
Lanto Griffin, Final qualifying
Adam Hadwin, Final qualifying
Stewart Hagestad (a), 5
Harry Hall, Final qualifying
Nick Hardy, Final qualifying
Brian Harman, 20
Tyrrell Hatton, 20
Russell Henley, 20
Lucas Herbert, 20
Bo Hoag, Final qualifying
Tom Hoge, 20
Max Homa, 12, 20
Blily Horschel, 10, 11, 20
Sam Horsfield, 16
Rikuya Hoshino, Final qualifying
Beau Hossler, Final qualifying
Viktor Hovland, 11, 20
Mackenzie Hughes, Final qualifying
Sungjae Im, 11, 20
Daijiro Izumida, Japan, Final qualifying
Sean Jacklin, Final qualifying
Dustin Johnson, 1, 6, 11, 20
Chan Kim, Final qualifying
Joohyung Kim, 17
Si Woo Kim, 20
Kevin Kisner, 20
Kurt Kitayama, Final qualifying
Satoshi Kodaira, Final qualifying
Brooks Koepka, 1, 2, 7, 11, 20
Jason Kokrak, 11, 20
Jinichiro Kozuma, Final qualifying
Danny Lee, Final qualifying
K.H. Lee, 20
Min Woo Lee, 20
Marc Leishman, 20
David Lingmerth, Final qualifying
Luke List, 21
Ben Lorenz (a), Final qualifying
Shane Lowry, 8, 20
Richard Mansell, 16
Caleb Manuel, Final qualifying
Hideki Matsuyama, 6, 11, 12, 20
Brandon Matthews, Final qualifying
Denny McCarthy, Final qualifying
Matt McCarty, Final qualifying
Rory McIlroy, 2, 11, 20
Troy Merritt, Final qualifying
Phil Mickelson, 7
Guido Migliozzi, 2
Maxwell Moldovan, Final qualifying
Francesco Molinari, 8
Taylor Montgomery, Final qualifying
Jed Morgan, 18
Collin Morikawa, 2, 7, 8, 11, 20
William Mouw (a), Final qualifying
Jesse Mueller, Final qualifying
Sebastian Munoz, 20
Grayson Murray, Final qualifying
Kevin Na, 11, 20
Chris Naegel, Final qualifying
Keita Nakajima (a), 14
Matthew Nesmith, Final qualifying
Joaquin Niemann, 11, 20
Alex Noren, 20
Shaun Norris, 19
Andrew Novak, Final qualifying
Thorbjorn Olesen, 16
Louis Oosthuizen, 2, 11, 20
Yannik Paul, 16
Mito Pereira, 20
Victor Perez, 16
Thomas Pieters, 20
James Piot, 4
Seamus Power, 20
Andrew Putnam, Final qualifying
Fran Quinn, Final qualifying
Jon Rahm, 1, 2, 11, 20
Patrick Reed, 6, 11, 20
Charles Reiter (a), Final qualifying
Davis Riley, Final qualifying
Patrick Rodgers, Final qualifying
Justin Rose, 1, 20
Isaiah Salinda, Final qualifying
Kalle Samooja, 16
Xander Schauffele, 2, 11, 15, 20
Scottie Scheffler, 2, 6, 11, 12, 20
Adam Schenk, Final qualifying
Marcel Schneider, 16
Adam Scott, 20
Laird Shepherd (a), 13
Davis Shore, Final qualifying

Ben Silverman, Final qualifying
Webb Simpson, 1, 20
Todd Sinnott, Final qualifying
Roger Sloan, Final qualifying
Cameron Smith, 9, 11, 20
Stephen Soderberg, 16
Jordan Spieth, 1, 8, 11, 20
Scott Stallings, Final qualifying
Sepp Straka, 20
Brian Stuard, Final qualifying
Tomoyasu Sugiyama, Final qualifying
Nick Taylor, Final qualifying
Justin Thomas, 7, 9, 11, 20
Michael Thorbjornsen (a), Final qualifying
Cameron Tringale, 20
Erik van Rooyen, 11
Harold Varner III, 20
Travis Vick (a), Final qualifying
Aaron Wise, 21
Gary Woodland, 1
Cameron Young, 20
Will Zalatoris, 20

2022 U.S. Open qualifying categories (a-amateur):
1: Winners of the U.S. Open the last 10 years (2012-21)
2: From the 2021 U.S. Open, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place
3: Winner of the 2021 U.S. Senior Open
4: Winner of the 2021 U.S. Amateur
5: Winners of the 2021 U.S. Junior Amateur & U.S. Mid-Amateur and the 2021 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur)
6: Winners of the Masters the last five years (2018-22)
7: Winners of the PGA Championship (2017-22)
8: Winners of The Open Championship the last five years (2017-21)
9: Winners of the 2021, 2022 Players Championship
10: Winner of the 2021 European Tour BMW PGA Championship
11: Those players who qualified for the 2021 Tour Championship
12: Multiple winners of PGA Tour events that award a full-point allocation (June 2021-June 2022)
13: Winner of the 2021 British Amateur (must be an amateur)
14: Winner of the 2021 Mark H. McCormack Medal (top-ranked in WAGR, must be an amateur)
15: Winner of the 2020 Olympic Gold Medal (contested in 2021)
16: From the four-event U.S. Open 2022 European Qualifying Series (Betfred British Masters, Soudal Open, Dutch Open and Porsche European Open), the top 10 aggregate point earners that are not otherwise exempt
17: From the 2020-21 Asian Tour Final Order of Merit, the top finisher who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
18: From the 2021-22 ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia Final Order of Merit, the top finisher who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
19: From the 2021-22 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit, the leading player who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
20: Top-60 point leaders and ties from the current Official World Golf Ranking as of May 23, 2022
21: Top-60 point leaders and ties from the current Official World Golf Ranking as of June 6, 2022
22: Special exemptions selected by the USGA