Memorial Tournament

Muirfield Village Golf Club

Payday at Quail Hollow

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2023 Wells Fargo Championship

May 07, 2023

Jason Allen/ISI Photos

Forgive the mixed metaphors, but a designated-event-size serving of opportunity was knocking on Sunday for Wyndham Clark at the Wells Fargo Championship. The 29-year-old Denver-area native’s name pops up fairly regularly on leaderboards, but the up-and-comer was still searching for his breakthrough PGA Tour win. And with a two-shot lead over Xander Schauffele, that victory—and a $3.6 million first-place prize money payout—felt as close as ever, particularly after a sensational Saturday 63 at Quail Hollow Club helped Clark get to 16 under par and build on the 36-hole lead he shared coming into the third round.

By day’s end Sunday, Clark had claimed it, making it look easy with a four-shot triumph even though Schuaffele had actually taken the lead by a shot after six holes. Starting on the eighth hole, Clark birdied five of his next seven holes to grab back the advantage and making sure no one could catch him. A closing 68 for a 19-under 265 total gave Clark his first victory of any kind since the 2016 Pac-12 Championship at Oregon.

Clark was 0-for-1 in converting 54-hole leads in his tour career (at the 2019 Honda Classic he shot a two-over 72 to finish T-7 after leading by one), but there were reasons to believe that this would be his week. In his fifth year on tour, Clark was having his best season to date: five top-10s in 18 starts and just two missed cuts, ranking 36th in the FedEx Cup points race. After Sunday’s play, he now holds the lead for the most rounds in the 60s this season on the tour (35).

With the victory, Clark becomes the sixth player since 2008 to make Quail Hollow his first PGA Tour win, joining Anthony Kim (2008), Rory McIlroy (2010), Rickie Fowler (2012), Derek Ernst (2013) and Max Homa (2019).

As the seventh designated event on the PGA Tour’s 2023 schedule, Quail Hollow offered up a $20 million purse with the winner, as previously mentioned, getting a rather oversize first-place check. How oversize is the $3.6 million for Clark? Well consider that his biggest previous payday on the PGA Tour was when he finished T-10 at the 2023 WM Phoenix Open, good for $485,000.

Here’s the prize money payouts for every golfer who made the cut this week.

Win: Wyndham Clark, -19, $3,600,000

2: Xander Schauffele, -15, $2,180,000

T-3: Harris English, -12. $1,180,000

T-3: Tyrrell Hatton, -12. $1,180,000

T-5: Tommy Fleetwood, -11, $772,500

T-5: Adam Scott, -11, $772,500

7: Micahel Kim, -10, $675,000

T-8: Denny McCarthy, -9, $525,000

T-8: K.H. Lee, -9, $525,000

T-8: Max Homa, -9, $525,000

T-8: Corey Conners, -9, $525,000

T-8: Sungjae Im, -9, $525,000

T-8: Brendon Todd, -9, $525,000

T-14: Jimmy Walker, -8, $355,000

T-14: Rickie Fowler, -8, $355,000

T-14: Justin Thomas, -8, $355,000

T-14: Gary Woodland, -8, $355,000

T-18: Kevin Streelman, -7, $285,000

T-18: Seamus Power, -7, $285,000

T-18: Alex Smalley, -7, $285,000

T-21: Patrick Cantlay, -6, $235,000

T-21: Dylan Wu, -6,m $235,000

T-23: Tony Finau, -5, $185,000

T-23: Emiliano Grillo, -5, $185,000

T-23: Tom Kim, -5, $185,000

T-23: Matt Kuchar, -5, $185,000

T-27: Stephan Jaeger, -4, $134,125

T-27: Taylor Moore,, -4, $134,125

Quail Hollow Club
Quail Hollow Club
Charlotte, NC
Few golf course projects had more national attention in recent years than Quail Hollow, mainly because its front nine was redesigned just a year before it hosted the 2017 PGA Championship, won by Justin Thomas. The par-4 first and par-3 second holes were completely torn up, replaced by a new long dogleg-right par-4 opening hole. Several acres of pines to the left of the fifth tee were removed to make room for a new par-3 fourth. (With its knobby green fronted by three traps, it proved to be the most frustrating hole for pros in the 2017 PGA.) More pines were removed to the left of the par-4 11th, replaced by bunkers, and even more trees chopped down on a hill left of the par-4 18th to make room for money-making hospitality boxes. There’s no question that this latest remodeling, rushed though it was, improved the course. The course was also rerouted for the 2022 Presidents Cup.
View Course

T-27: Trace Crowe, -4, $134,125

T-27: Mark Hubbard, -4, $134,125

T-27: J.J. Spaun, -4, $134,125

T-27: Doug Ghim, -4, $134,125

T-27: Nate Lashley, -4, $134,125

T-27: Adam Svensson, -4, $134,125

T-35: Matt Fitzpatrick, -3, $101,750

T-35: Chad Ramey, -3, $101,750

T-35: Keegan Bradley, -3, $101,750

T-35: Ryan Palmer, -3, $101,750

T-35: Matthew NeSmith, -3, $101,750

T-40: Kramer Hickok, -2, $83,000

T-40: Joseph Bramlett, -2, $83,000

T-40: Francesco Molinari, -2, $83,000

T-43: Hayden Buckley, -1, $69,000

T-43: Si Woo Kim, -1, $69,000

T-43: Akshay Bhatia, -1, $69,000

T-43: Viktor Hovland, -1, $69,000

T-47: Henrik Norlander, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Zac Blair, E, $51,222.22

T-47: David Lingmerth, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Alejandro Tosti, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Rory McIlroy, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Sam Stevens, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Trey Mullinax, E, $51,222.22

T-47: M.J. Daffue, E, $51,222.22

T-47: Beau Hossler, E, $51,222.22

T-56: Ryan Armour, +1, $46,200

T-56: Chris Kirk, +1, $46,200

T-56: Sahith Theegala, +1, $46,200

T-59: Justin Suh, +2, $44,600

T-59: Cam Davis, +2, $44,600

T-59: Cameron Young, +2, $44,600

T-59: Keith Mitchell, +2, $44,600

T-59: Harrison Endycott, +2, $44,600

T-64: Webb Simpson, +3, $43,000

T-64: Austin Eckroat, +3, $43,000

T-64: Callum Tarren, +3, $43,000

67: Stewart Cink, +5, $42,200

68: Nick Hardy, +8, $41,800