Payday in Austin

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2021 WGC-Dell Match Play

March 28, 2021

Darren Carroll

If you want to claim the title at the WGC-Dell Match Play Championship, you to have to endure your fair share of golf. Billy Horschel, the eventual winner of the Walter Hagen Cup battled through seven individual matches over five days. That included double sessions on Saturday and Sunday at Austin Country Club, capped by his 2-and-1 win in the finals over Scottie Scheffler

For that effort, however, Horschel will be substantially rewarded. The overall prize money payout for this WGC event is $10.5 million with the winner earning $1.82 million. While Horschel is a former FedEx Cup champion who just claimed his sixth tour title in his 11th season on the PGA Tour, Sunday’s payday is the biggest single tournament check he’s ever cashed. Just teaching the finals guaranteed him a seven-figure payday. And making it to Sunday’s semifinals was worth more than a half-million dollars.

Below is the prize money payout for each golfer at this week’s Match Play. While things are listed as paydays for individual places, those who do not advance out of group play are actually paid based on home many points they earned in the first three days of round-robin golf. The breakdown depends on how many earn various point totals (2 points, 1.5, 1, .5, and 0). We’ll update these totals with specific individual player names and money earn as the tournament moves on.

Win: Billy Horschel, $1,820,000

2: Scottie Scheffler, $1,150,000

3: Matt Kuchar, $740,000

4: Victor Perez, $600,000

Quarterfinals (T-5)

Tommy Fleetwood, $337,000

Sergio Garcia, $337,000

Jon Rahm, $337,000

Brian Harman, $337,000

Round of 16 (T-9)

Dylan Frittelli, $189,000

Kevin Streelman, $189,000

Mackenzie Hughes, $189,000

Robert MacIntyre, $189,000

Ian Poulter, $189,000

Erik von Rooyen, $189,000

Bubba Watson, $189,000

Jordan Spieth, $189,000

And here's how much money the rest of the field will earn for their efforts:

17th (2.5 points in group play)

Ryan Palmer, $144,000

T-18 (2 points)

Kevin Kisner, $113,700

Max Homa, $113,700

Antoine Rozner, $113,700

Xander Schauffele, $113,700

Joaquin Niemann, $113,700

Lee Westwood, $113,700

Patrick Cantlay, $113,700

Abraham Ancer, $113,700

Daniel Berger, $113,700

Matt Fitzpatrick, $113,700

T-28 (1.5 points)

Dustin Johnson, $75,000

Adam Long, $75,000

J.T. Poston, $75,000

Patrick Reed, $75,000

Matt Wallace, $75,000

Webb Simpson, $75,000

Paul Casey, $75,000

Rory McIlroy, $75,000

Cameron Smith, $75,000

Tony Finau, $75,000

Will Zalatoris, $75,000

Matthew Wolff, $75,000

Marc Leishman, $75,000

Russell Henley, $75,000

T-42 (1 point)

Kevin Na, $47,571.43

Justin Thomas, $47,571.43

Shane Lowry, $47,571.43

Bryson DeChambeau, $47,571.43

Jason Day, $47,571.43

Andy Sullivan, $47,571.42

Carlos Ortiz, $47,571.43

Hideki Matsuyama, $47,571.43

Jason Kokrak, $47,571.43

Bernd Wiesberger, $47,571.43

Viktor Hovland, $47,571.43

Harris English, $47,571.43

Brendon Todd, $47,571.42

Sungjae Im, $47,571.43

T-56 (.5 points)

Collin Morikawa, $38,000

Si Woo Kim, $38,000

Christiaan Bezuidenhout, $38,000

Tyrrell Hatton, $38,000

Talor Gooch, $38,000

T-61 (0 points)

Louis Oosthuizen, $35,750

Sebastian Munoz, $35,750

Lanto Griffin, $35,750

Corey Conners, $35,750