PGA Championship

Valhalla Golf Club


2017 Presidents Cup viewer's guide

September 27, 2017
Presidents Cup - Preview Day 1

Ryan Young

The Presidents Cup gets underway this week at Liberty National, a former landfill in Jersey City, N.J., that features views of the Statue of Liberty and Manhattan skyline. It's the 12th edition of the team match-play event between the United States and an International team, which is made up of players from the rest of the world outside Europe. Starting in 1994, the event has taken place every two years opposite the Ryder Cup.

Here's everything you need to know before the matches get started:


The Golf Channel will carry live coverage on Thursday from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET, and on Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. NBC will provide coverage on Saturday starting at 8 a.m. and on Sunday beginning at 12 p.m.


United States

Captain: Steve Stricker

Assistant captains: Davis Love III, Tiger Woods, Fred Couples

Players: Daniel Berger, Kevin Chappell, Rickie Fowler, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Charley Hoffman, Phil Mickelson, Kevin Kisner, Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed


Captain: Nick Price

Assistant captains: Ernie Els, Tony Johnstone, Geoff Ogilvy

Players: Jason Day, Branden Grace, Emiliano Grillo, Jhonattan Vegas, Adam Hadwin, Anirban Lahiri, Si-Woo Kim, Marc Leishman, Hideki Matsuyama, Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Adam Scott


Thursday, Sept. 28

12:30 p.m. - Opening Ceremony

First session -- five foursomes matches

1:05 p.m. - Hideki Matsuyama/Charl Schwartzel vs. Rickie Fowler/Justin Thomas

1:17 p.m. - Adam Scott/Jhonattan Vegas vs. Dustin Johnson/Matt Kuchar

1:29 p.m. - Si Woo Kim/Emiliano Grillo vs. Jordan Spieth/Patrick Reed

1:41 p.m. - Louis Oosthuizen/Branden Grace vs. Brooks Koepka/Daniel Berger

1:53 p.m. - Jason Day/Marc Leishman vs. Kevin Kisner/Phil Mickelson

Friday, Sept. 29

Second session -- five four-ball matches

11:35 a.m. - Patrick Reed/Jordan Spieth vs. Adam Hadwin/Hideki Matsuyama

11:50 a.m. - Justin Thomas/Rickie Fowler vs. Branden Grace/Louis Oosthuizen

12:05 p.m. - Kevin Kisner/Phil Mickelson vs. Marc Leishman/Jason Day

12:20 p.m. - Charley Hoffman/Kevin Chappell vs. Anirban Lahiri/Charl Schwartzel

12:35 p.m. - Brooks Koepka/Dustin Johnson vs. Jhonattan Vegas/Adam Scott

Saturday, Sept. 30

7 a.m. - Third session -- four foursomes matches

12 p.m. - Fourth session -- four four-ball matches

Sunday, Oct. 1

12 p.m. - Final session - 12 singles matches


Each match is worth one point, with matches ending in a draw worth a half a point to each side. There are a total of 30 points, meaning the first team to reach 15½ wins the Presidents Cup. If the matches end in a 15-15 draw, the teams will share the Presidents Cup.


The United States leads the overall series 9-1-1, with the most recent victory coming in 2015 at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon, South Korea, where they won 15½-14½. The International team's only victory came in 1998, when they won 20½-11½ at Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Australia.


2019: Royal Melbourne Golf Club, Melbourne, Australia, Dec. 12-15
2021: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, N.C.
2023: TBD
2025: TPC Harding Park, San Francisco