RBC Heritage

Harbour Town Golf Links

PGA Tour

World's top five entered for Memorial's first bow as designated event

May 26, 2023

Jon Rahm celebrates winning the 2020 Memorial.

Andy Lyons

The big weeks on the PGA Tour seem to be coming more frequently than ever. Of course, that’s because they are, with the now-designated events and their $20 million in prize money drawing most of the top players in the game.

Up next week is the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village in Ohio—always popular because it’s hosted by Jack Nicklaus, but even more so with this new status. And with the field finalized on Friday, it's going to be another major-like show of star power, including the top five in the World Ranking—Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele.

The 2022 edition was a bit of a yawner, with Billy Horschel winning by four shots over Aaron Wise and six over Cantlay. In 2021, Cantlay won the title by beating Collin Morikawa in a playoff. Rahm won in 2020.

There are a few notables missing, with players being allowed to skip one designated event each season. Tony Finau, Max Homa and Tommy Fleetwood didn’t enter.