Hero World Challenge


News & Tours

Crystal Ball

Masters 2023: Here's everyone who has qualified so far to compete at Augusta National (we think)

November 21, 2022

Scottie Scheffler gets the Masters trophy from Augusta National chairman Fred Ridley after his 2022 victory.

Andrew Redington

For many golf fans, the void created by the end of the PGA Tour’s fall season brings about an involuntary response:

So, how many days until the Masters, again?

Die-hards will know it’s 136 until Thursday’s opening round, and here’s hoping Tom Watson can make it back as an honorary starter after his go-kart accident last week. Meanwhile, the prospect of a new tee box being used on the par-5 13th at Augusta National already has fans anxious for April to get here ASAP.

In thinking about the Masters, the natural instinct is also to think about who is playing in the Masters. That question is a bit more tenuous heading into 2023 with the specter of LIV Golf potentially altering the usual invitation list.

Masters officials have not said whether players banned by the PGA Tour for competing on the controversial Saudi-backed LIV Golf circuit might also be restricted from competing at Augusta National. The club has not formally released qualifying categories for 2023, either, although don’t read too much into that. They typically aren’t posted on the tournament website until late December or early January, around when the club begins to send out invitations to players who have qualified.

So while nothing is official yet, let’s presume for a moment that the traditional qualifying criteria does carry over into 2023 and that LIV golfers who earn spots through qualifying will indeed be welcomed to drive down Magnolia Lane. If that’s the case, by our estimation 80 golfers are currently in the field, including all living past champions. Winnowing out those who won a green jacket but no longer play in the tournament, the list of likely competitors is around 65, depending on whether the likes of Trevor Immelman might compete again or if Sandy Lyle might call it a career.

Below then are the players who we believe have earned invitations if the 2022 criteria is carried over for 2023. Mind you, there are still more additions likely to come to this list. Presuming again the 2022 qualifying categories carry over, the top 50 in the final Official World Golf Ranking who aren’t already in the field will qualify, as well winners of PGA Tour events from January through April that give out a full allocation of FedEx Cup points. Additionally, the winner of the Latin America Amateur Championship in January is expected to be given a spot.


Sam Bennett (a), 7

Keegan Bradley, 16 (Zozo)

Sam Burns, 16 (Charles Schwab Challenge), 17

Patrick Cantlay, 16 (BMW), 17

Ben Carr (a), 7

Cameron Champ, 12

Corey Conners, 12, 17

Fred Couples, 1

Harrison Crowe (a), 9

Bryson DeChambeau, 2

Tony Finau, 16 (3M Open, Rocket Mortgage, Houston Open), 17

Matt Fitzpatrick, 2, 13, 16 (U.S. Open), 17

Tommy Fleetwood, 14

Sergio Garcia, 1

Brian Harman, 17

Russell Henley, 16 (World Wide Technology)

Tom Hoge, 17

Max Homa, 16 (Wells Fargo, Fortinet), 17

Billy Horschel, 16 (Memorial), 17

Viktor Hovland, 14, 17

Mackenzie Hughes, 16 (Sanderson Farms)

Sungjae Im, 12, 17

Dustin Johnson, 1, 12

Zach Johnson, 1

Tom Kim, 16 (Wyndham, Shriners)

Brooks Koepka, 2, 4

Bernhard Langer, 1

K.H. Lee, 16 (Byron Nelson), 17

Shane Lowry, 3, 12

Sandy Lyle, 1

Hideki Matsuyama, 1, 13, 17

Matthew McClean (a), 10

Rory McIlroy, 12, 14, 16 (RBC Canadian, CJ Cup), 17

Phil Mickelson, 1, 4

Larry Mize, 1

Francesco Molinari, 3

Collin Morikawa, 3, 4, 12, 17

Joaquin Niemann, 17

Jose Maria Olazabal, 1

Mito Pereira, 15

J.T. Poston, 16 (John Deere), 17

Aldrich Potgieter (a), 8

Seamus Power, 16 (Bermuda)

Jon Rahm, 2, 16 (Mexico), 17

Patrick Reed, 1, 12, 17, 19

Xander Schauffele, 16 (Travelers, Scottish Open), 17

Scottie Scheffler, 1, 12, 13, 16 (Masters), 17

Charl Schwartzel, 1, 12

Adam Scott, 1, 17

Vijay Singh, 1

Cameron Smith, 3, 5, 12, 14, 16 (Open Championship), 17

Jordan Spieth, 1, 16 (RBC Heritage), 17

Scott Stallings, 17

Sepp Straka, 17

Adam Svensson, 16 (RSM Classic)

Sahith Theegala, 17

Justin Thomas, 4, 5, 12, 15, 16 (PGA), 17

Bubba Watson, 1

Mike Weir, 1

Danny Willett, 1, 12

Aaron Wise, 17

Tiger Woods, 1

Gary Woodland, 2

Cameron Young, 14, 15, 17

Will Zalatoris, 12, 13, 15, 16 (FedEx St. Jude), 17.

Past champions who did not play in 2022 or said they won't play in 2023:

Tommy Aaron

Jack Burke, Jr.

Angel Cabrera

Charles Coody

Ben Crenshaw

Nick Faldo

Raymond Floyd

Trevor Immelman

Jack Nicklaus

Mark O'Meara

Gary Player

Craig Stadler

Tom Watson

Ian Woosnam

Fuzzy Zoeller

2022 qualifying categories

1: Masters champions (lifetime)

2: U.S. Open champions (five years)

3: Open champions (five years)

4: PGA champion (five years)

5: Players champion (three years)

6: Current Olympic gold medalist (one year)

7: Current U.S. Amateur champion and runner-up (one year)

8: Current British Amateur champion (one year)

9: Current Asia-Pacific Amateur champion (one year)

10: Current U.S. Mid-Amateur champion (one year)

11: Current Latin America Amateur champion (one year)

12: First 12 players, including ties, in the previous year's Masters

13: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year's U.S. Open

14: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year's Open Championship

15: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year's PGA Championship

16: Winners of PGA Tour regular-season and playoff events that award at least a full allocation of FedEx Cup points

17: Qualifiers from the previous year's season-ending Tour Championship (top 30 in FedEx Cup)

18: 50 leaders on the final Official World Golf Ranking for the previous calendar year

19: 50 leaders on the Official World Golf Ranking published during the week prior to the current Masters