Payday at Augusta

Masters 2021: Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at Augusta National


Ben Walton

The spoils of winning the Masters are numerous and overwhelming, as 2021 champion Hideki Matsuyama is about to find out. There’s the green jacket, of course, and the Masters trophy, plus the chance to tee it up every April at Augusta National for the rest of your life. You have a seat reserved at the Champions Dinner each year and a space in the Champions locker room whenever you’re back down Magnolia Lane. Oh, and your golf legacy is fairly secure, “Masters champion” mentioned any time you’re introduced in public.

That legacy part might be even more pronounced for Matsuyama, who carried the weight of an entire country on his shoulders Sunday as he attempted to become the first male golfer from Japan to win a major championship. The pressure had the potential to be suffocating for the 29-year-old, who started the day with a four-shot lead. Still, he hung on despite a few slip-ups down the stretch, shooting a closing 73 to finish with a one-shot victory over Will Zalatoris. In the process, he became an instant legend in the golf-obsessed country.

Meanwhile, there is one other thing the winner receives that, amazingly, can get forgotten: the first-place check that goes to the winner. On Saturday, the club released the prize money payout for the 2021 tournament, keeping the overall purse at $11.5 million with the winner taking home $2,070,000, the same as in 2019 and 2020.

Among the men’s majors, the Masters ranks the second most lucrative. The U.S. Open handed out $12.5 million at Winged Foot in September, with Bryson DeChambeau earning $2.25 million for his victory. The PGA Championship paid out $11 million in August at TPC Harding Park with Collin Morikawa receiving $1.98 million. The Open Championship awarded $10.75 million in 2019 at Royal Portrush.

And the most lucrative purse on the PGA Tour? That distinction goes to the Players Championship. Last month, the tour paid out a record $15 million prize money payout, with Justin Thomas earning $2.7 million for his victory.

Here’s the prize money payout for the entire field this week. Come back after the end of play on Sunday and we’ll update this with names and specific payouts for each golfer who made the cut.

Win: Hideki Matsuyama, -10, $2,070,000

2: Will Zalatoris, -9, $1,242,000

T3: Xander Schauffele, 281/-7, $667,000

T3: Jordan Spieth, 281/-7, $667,000

T5: Marc Leishman, 282/-6, $437,000

T5: Jon Rahm, 282/-6, $437,000

7: Justin Rose, 283/-5, $385,250

T8: Corey Conners, 284/-4, $345,000

T8: Patrick Reed, 284/-4, $345,000

T10: Tony Finau, 285/-3, $299,000

T10: Cameron Smith, 285/-3, $299,000

T12: Stewart Cink, 286/-2, $218,500

T12: Brian Harman, 286/-2, $218,500

T12: Si Woo Kim, 286/-2, $218,500

T12: Robert MacIntyre, 286/-2, $218,500

T12: Kevin Na, 286/-2, $218,500

T12: Webb Simpson, 286/-2, $218,500

T18: Tyrrell Hatton, 287/-1, $161,000

T18: Collin Morikawa, 287/-1, $161,000

T18: Scottie Scheffler, 287/-1, $161,000

T21: Harris English, 288/E, $119,600

T21: Viktor Hovland, 288/E, $119,600

T21: Shane Lowry, 288/E, $119,600

T21: Phil Mickelson, 288/E, $119,600

T21: Justin Thomas, 288/E, $119,600

T26: Abraham Ancer, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Paul Casey, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Cameron Champ, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Matt Jones, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Louis Oosthuizen, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Ian Poulter, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Charl Schwartzel, 289/+1, $79,925

T26: Bubba Watson, 289/+1, $79,925

T34: Matt Fitzpatrick, 290/+2, $60,663

T34: Ryan Palmer, 290/+2, $60,663

T34: Michael Thompson, 290/+2, $60,663

T34: Matt Wallace, 290/+2, $60,663

T38: Martin Laird, 291/+3, $52,900

T38: Henrik Stenson, 291/+3, $52,900

T40: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, 292/+4, $43,700

T40: Mackenzie Hughes, 292/+4, $43,700

T40: Sebastián Muñoz, 292/+4, $43,700

T40: Joaquin Niemann, 292/+4, $43,700

T40: Bernd Wiesberger, 292/+4, $43,700

T40: Gary Woodland, 292/+4, $43,700

T46: Bryson DeChambeau, 293/+5, $33,503

T46: Tommy Fleetwood, 293/+5, $33,503

T46: Brendon Todd, 293/+5, $33,503

49: Jason Kokrak, 295/+7, $29,900

T50: Billy Horschel, 296/+8, $28,635

T50: José María Olazábal, 296/+8, $28,635

52: Francesco Molinari, 297/+9, $27,600

53: Jim Herman, 298/+10, $27,140

54: Adam Scott, 299/+11, $26,680