Payday in Austin

Here's the prize money payout for each golfers at the 2023 WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play

March 26, 2023

A volunteer updates the bracket group board during Friday's play at the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play.

Ben Jared

Five days, seven matches, one satisfying victory. Sam Burns proved to be the last man standing on Sunday at the final edition of the WGC-Dell Match Play Championship, finishing off a long but rewarding week at Austin Country Club with a convincing 6-and-5 triumph over Cameron Young in Sunday’s championship match.

“It was very exhausting,” said the 26-year-old Louisiana native after grabbing his fifth career PGA Tour title, making an impressive 48 birdies over 119 total holes in Texas.

For that effort, however, Burns gets to enjoy a substantial reward. The last edition of this event at Austin C.C. is also one of the PGA Tour’s designated events for 2023, which means the overall prize money payout jumped from its previously impressive $12 million to $20 million. Burns grabbed a first-place prize money payout of $3.5 million, up from the $2.1 million Scottie Scheffler earned for his win a year ago. Young claimed $2.2 million for his runner-up effort. Indeed, if you made it to Sunday, you guaranteed yourself a seven-figure payday.

Below is the prize money payout for each golfer at this week’s Match Play.

Win: Sam Burns, $3,500,000

2: Cameron Young, $2,200,000

3: Rory McIlroy, $1,420,000

4: Scottie Scheffler, $1,145,000

Quarterfinalists: $645,000

Mackenzie Hughes

Jason Day

Xander Schauffele

Kurt Kitayama

Round of 16: $365,000

Max Homa

Patrick Cantlay

Matt Kuchar

J.T. Poston

J.J. Spaun

Lucas Herbert

Andrew Putnam

Billy Horschel

T-17: 2 points (2-1), $219,909

Rickie Fowler

Brian Harman

Cam Davis

Ryan Fox

Si Woo Kim

Tony FInay

Adrian Meronk

Taylor Montgomery

Russell Henley

Corey Conners

Sungjae Im

T-28: 1.5 points (1-1-1), $166,000

Davis Riley

Keegan Bradley

Collin Morikawa

T-31: 1 point (1-2-0), $113,761

Tom Kim

Jon Rahm

Scott Stallings

Nick Taylor

Hideki Matsuyama

Kevin Kisner

Justin Suh

Aaron Wise

Harris English

Viktor Hovland

Victor Perez

Matt Fitzpatrick

Min Wo Lee

Sahith Theegala

Jordan Spieth

Shane Lowry

Seamus Power

Adam Scott

Adam Hadwin

Ben Griffin

Davis Thompson

T-52: .5 points (0-2-1), $74,857

Alex Noren

Keith Mitchell

Denny McCarthy

Chris Kirk

Adam Svensson

Tommy Fleetwood

Maverick McNealy

T-59: 0 points (0-3-0), $67,500

K.H. Lee

Tom Hoge

Will Zalatoris

Christiaan Bezuidenhout

Tyrrell Hatton

Sepp Straka