Payday in Austin

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2022 WGC-Dell Match Play Championship

March 24, 2022

Gregory Shamus

With two wins in his last four PGA Tour starts, Scottie Scheffler had been looking like the best golfer in the world. On Sunday, he officially earned the title.

Knocking off Kevin Kisner, 4 and 3, in the 18-hole final at Austin Country Club, Scheffler added the WGC-Dell Match Play Championship to his growing résumé. And with the victory, the 25-year-old moved into the top spot in the World Ranking, displacing Jon Rahm after a 36-week run at No. 1.

Scheffler went 2-1 in group play (his lone loss coming to Tommy Fleetwood) at the golf course he says he’s played more than 100 times when counting practice rounds from his undergraduate days at the University of Texas. Scheffler beat Matt Fitzpatrick in a sudden-death playoff to move into the knockout bracket over the weekend, and then proceeded to take out Billy Horschel (who he lost to in the final of the championship a year ago), Seamus Power and Dustin Johnson before beating Kisner.

By being the last man standing during a long week in Texas, Scheffler earned the $2.1 million first place prize money payout from the overall purse of $12 million. It’s the second time this month that Scheffler has cashed a check for more than $2 million, having earned $7,398,014 during the 2021-22 season.

Below is the prize money payout for each golfer at this week’s Match Play. While things are listed as paydays for individual places, those who do not advance out of group play are actually paid based on home many points they earned in the first three days of round-robin golf. The breakdown depends on how many earn various point totals (2 points, 1.5, 1, .5, and 0). We’ll update these totals with specific individual player names and money earn as the tournament moves on.

Win: Scottie Scheffler, $2,100,000

2: Kevin Kisner, $1,320,000

3: Corey Conners, $852,000

4: Dustin Johnson, $685,000

Quarterfinals (T-5):

Seamus Power, $386,000

Brooks Koepka, $386,000

Will Zalatoris, $386,000

Abraham Ancer, $386,000

Round of 16 (T-9):

Billy Horschel, $220,000

Tyrrell Hatton, $220,000

Richard Bland, $220,000

Jon Rahm, $220,000

Adam Scott, $220,000

Kevin Na, $220,000

Takumi Kanaya, $220,000

Collin Morikawa, $220,000

17th (2.5 points in group play)

Maverick McNealy, $164,000

T-18 (2 points)

Si Woo Kim, $133,875

Mackenzie Hughes, $133,875

Matt Fitzpatrick, $133,875

Harold Varner III, $133,875

Lucas Herbert, $133,875

Alex Noren, $133,875

Viktor Hovland, $133,875

Talor Gooch, $133,875

T-26 (1.5 points)

Patrick Cantlay, $97,111.11

Keith Mitchell, $97,111.11

Patrick Reed, $97,111.11

Sebastián Muñoz, $97,111.11

Justin Rose, $97,111.11

Bubba Watson, $97,111.11

Thomas Pieters, $97,111.11

Min Woo Lee, $97,111.11

Sergio Garcia, $97,111.11

T-35 (1 point)

Sungjae Im, $58,239.12

Lee Westwood, $58,239.12

Cameron Young, $58,239.12

Jordan Spieth, $58,239.12

Daniel Berger, $58,239.12

Max Homa, $58,239.12

Shane Lowry, $58,239.12

Robert MacIntyre, $58,239.12

Cameron Tringale, $58,239.12

Sepp Straka, $58,239.12

Louis Oosthuizen, $58,239.12

Justin Thomas, $58,239.12

Marc Leishman, $58,239.12

Ian Poulter, $58,239.12

Tommy Fleetwood, $58,239.12

Luke List, $58,239.12

Xander Schauffele, $58,239.12

Tony Finau, $58,239.12

Joaquin Niemann, $58,239.12

Webb Simpson, $58,239.12

Jason Kokrak, $58,239.12

Brian Harman, $58,239.12

Keegan Bradley, $58,239.12

T-58 (.5 points)

Bryson DeChambeau, $42,750

Tom Hoge, $42,750

T-60 (0 points)

Matthew Wolff, $41,000

Christiaan Bezuidenhout, $41,000

Erik van Rooyen, $41,000

Russell Henley, $41,000

Paul Casey, $41,000