Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches

PGA National (Champion Course)

Payday at Tiburon

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2022 QBE Shootout

December 11, 2022

Douglas P. DeFelice

Going low isn’t just recommended at the QBE Shootout, it’s required (why else would Shootout be in the name?). A year ago, the winning two-player team of Jason Kokrak and Kevin Na surprisingly made three bogeys over the course of the 54-hole event (the most of all 12 teams) yet won thanks to their 12 birdies on the last 13 holes.

This time around it was Tom Hoge and Sahith Theegala who were busy writing circle after circle on their scorecard, making birdies on eight of the last 11 holes—including a 20-footer from Theegala on the 18th hole—for a closing 62 to pull out a one-shot win over Charley Hoffman and Ryan Palmer at Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Fla.

“It’s pretty special. It’s nice to get a little taste of competition and taste of victory because it’s so hard out here,” said Theegala, the 25-year-old having an impressive rookie season in 2022 but still looking for his first PGA Tour title. “So many great players. So it’s nice to get a little taste of that.” (Hoge, 33, won his first tour title in February at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.)


David Cannon

Hoffman and Palmer came into the final round with a two-shot lead after setting the tournament’s 36-hole scoring record with a 26-under 118. But a bogey on the third hole meant the veteran duo (Hoffman was playing for the ninth time in the event with his sixth partner) put an end to any momentum they carried. It wasn’t until the back nine that they started picking things up, Palmer making a chip-in for birdie on the 17th hole—after watching his chip for eagle from roughly the same spot fail to reach the green and roll back to his feet—to get back into a tie for the lead coming to the 18th hole. The duo each had birdie looks at the last to force a playoff but neither could hole the putt, finishing with a 65.

For their victory, Hoge and Theegala earned a prize money payout of $475,500 each from and overall purse of $3.8 million. Here’s the prize money payout for all the golfers competing at Tiburon. We’ll update this list shortly after Sunday’s finish with individual names and money earned.

Win: Tom Hoge/Sahith Theegala, -34, $475,500 each ($950,000 total)

2: Charley Hoffman/Ryan Palmer, -33, $295,000 ($590,000)

3: Harris English/Matt Kuchar, -32, $180,000 ($360,000)

4: Max Homa/Kevin Kisnery, -30, $142,000 ($284,000)

T-5: Trey Mullinax/Scott Stallings, -27, $115,150 ($230,500)

T-5: Denny McCarthy/Nelly Korda, -27, $115,150 ($230,500)

7: Steve Stricker/Cameron Young, -26, $102,500 ($200,000)

T-8: Brian Harman/Sepp Straka, -25, $98,750 ($197,500)

T-8: Corey Conners/K.H. Lee, -25, $98,750 ($197,500)

T-10: Maverick McNealy/Lexi Thompson, -24, $93,750 ($187,500)

T-10: Jason Day/Billy Horschel, -24, $93,750 ($187,500)

12: Keith Mitchell/J.J. Spaun, -23, $90,000 ($180,000)