RBC Heritage

Harbour Town Golf Links

Payday at Congressional

Here is the record-breaking prize money payout for each golfer at the 2022 KPMG Women's PGA Championship

June 25, 2022


In Gee Chun went wire-to-wire to win the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, her third career major title and fourth LPGA victory. But that doesn’t tell the full story.

The 27-year-old from South Korea was leading by five after the first round at Congressional Country Club, six after the second and three after the third. But she saw that advantage disappear on Sunday, making four bogeys over her first eight holes. With three holes to play, Chun was two shots behind Lexi Thompson and her first LPGA win since 2018 seemed unlikely.

But Chun hung tough, birdieing the par-5 16th as Thompson make a bogey, and the pair were tied. Then Chun made a par on the 17th while Thompson bogeyed, giving the South Korean back the lead. And a clutch two-putt from just over the green on the par-4 18th gave Chun the victory at five under total despite a closing three-over 75.

Thompson jumped to the outright lead after the fourth hole with two early birdies. She was seven under for the championship through 11 holes after a birdie on the par 5. But then her struggles with her putter, something that’s held her back in past majors during her successful but sometimes frustrating career, returned. They led to bogeys on the 12th, 14th (missing a two-footer for par), 16th and 17th holes. A birdie on the 15th wasn’t enough to hold on as she would shoot a one-over 73 to finish one back, tied with Minjee Lee for a share of second.

With the victory, Chun earned the $1.35 million first-place prize money payout from the record $9 million purse. When KPMG came on as title sponsor of the championship in 2015, officials with the company made three promises: to play the event at sites that have hosted men’s majors; to air the major on network television; and to increase the purse. In 2022, all three promises have been fulfilled: The event is hosted at Congressional, was featured on NBC for six hours over the weekend and the purse has been doubled from $4.5 million to $9 million.

“Doubling the purse from $4.5 million to $9 million is another example of KPMG and the PGA of America’s dogged commitment to the LPGA and our athletes,” Mollie Marcoux Samaan, LPGA Commissioner, said."We could not be more grateful for their steadfast leadership in growing the women’s game and providing our athletes and future athletes with opportunities commensurate with their world-class talent."

The year before KPMG came on, the overall prize money payout in the event was $2.25 million. That rose to $3.5 million in 2015, $4.3 million in 2020 and then $4.5 million in 2021.

The latest bump puts the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship purse amongst the highest in women’s golf, bested only by the U.S. Women’s Open ($12 million).

Here is the prize money payout for every golfer who made the cut at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. Come back shortly after the finish and we'll update the list with names and payouts:

Win: In Gee Chun, -5, $1,350,000

T-2: Lexi Thompson, -4, $718,826

T-2: Minjee Lee, -4, $718,826

4: Atthaya Athitkul, -3, $467,580

T-5: Nasa Hataoka, -1, $274,165.40

T-5: Hyo Joo Kim, -1, $274,165.40

T-5: Hannah Green, -1, $274,165.40

T-5: Hye-Jin Choi, -1, $274,165.40

T-5: Sei Young Kim, -1, $274,165.40

T-10: Lilia Vu, E, $155,464.16

T-10: Eun-Hee Ji, E, $155,464.16

T-10: Stephanie Kyriacou, E, $155,464.16

T-10: Jessica Korda, E, $155,464.16

T-10: Stephanie Meadow, E, $155,464.16

T-10: Jennifer Chang, E, $155,464.16

T-16: Lauren Coughlin, +1, $114,044

T-16: Anna Nordqvist, +1, $114,044

T-16: Chella Choi, +1, $114,044

T-16: Brooke Henderson, +1, $114,044

T-16: Jennifer Kupcho, +1, $114,044

T-21: Georgia Hall, 2, $95,799

T-21: Peiyun Chien, 2, $95,799

T-21: Ashleigh Buhai, 2, $95,799

T-21: In Kyung Kim, 2, $95,799

T-25: Madelene Sagstrom, 3, $80,744

T-25: Inbee Park, 3, $80,744

T-25: Jeongeun Lee5, 3, $80,744

T-25: Jenny Shin, 3, $80,744

T-25: Angel Yin, 3, $80,744

T-30: Pajaree Anannarukarn, +4, $59,987

T-30: Mao Saigo, +4, $59,987

T-30: Mel Reid, +4, $59,987

T-30: Caroline Inglis, +4, $59,987

T-30: Paula Reto, +4, $59,987

T-30: Nelly Korda, +4, $59,987

T-30: Allisen Corpuz, +4, $59,987

T-30: Alison Lee, +4, $59,987

T-30: Jin Young Ko, +4, $59,987

T-30: Yuka Saso, +4, $59,987

T-40: Gaby Lopez, +5, $42,957

T-40: Aditi Ashok, +5, $42,957

T-40: Wei-Ling Hsu, +5, $42,957

T-40: Sarah Kemp, +5, $42,957

T-40: Kelly Tan, +5, $42,957

T-40: Matilda Castren, +5, $42,957

T-46: Xiyu Janet Lin, +6, $36,037

T-46: Cheyenne Knight, +6, $36,037

T-46: Lydia Ko, +6, $36,037

49: So Yeon Ryu, +7, $33,299

T-50: Emily Kristine Pedersen, +8, $30,563

T-50: Stacy Lewis, +8, $30,563

T-50: A Lim Kim, +8, $30,563

T-50: Mirim Lee, +8, $30,563

T-54: Leona Maguire, +9, $26,002

T-54: Moriya Jutanugarn, +9, $26,002

T-54: Elizabeth Szokol, +9, $26,002

T-54: Ariya Jutanugarn, +9, $26,002

T-54: Pornanong Phatlum, +9, $26,002

T-54: Ryann O'Toole, +9, $26,002

T-60: Muni He, +10, $22,583

T-60: Brittany Altomare, +10, $22,583

T-62: Sung Hyun Park, +11, $21,667

T-62: Brianna Do, +11, $21,667

64: Na Rin An, +12, $20,987

T-65: Bianca Pagdanganan, +13, $20,072

T-65: Robynn Ree, +13, $20,072

T-65: Sophia Schubert, +13, $20,072

T-68: Jennifer Song, +15, $18,929

T-68: Gerina Mendoza, +15, $18,929

70: Cydney Clanton, +18, $18,250

71: Maude-Aimee Leblanc, +20, $18,023

WD: Hinako Shibuno, $17,787