Mexico Open at Vidanta

Vidanta Vallarta

Payday in Memphis

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2021 WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational

August 08, 2021

Ben Jared

Everything was going great for Harris English at the WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational. Until it wasn’t.

English held a two-shot lead entering the final round at TPC Southwind in Memphis. Despite a bogey on the first hole, three birdies on the front nine allowed him to extend the lead to three and had him looking posed to grab his third PGA Tour title of the 2020-21 season and the fifth of his career.

But when English made the turn, his golf game turned as well. He hit his tee shot on the par-3 11th into the water, en route to a double bogey. He had to scramble for pars on the 12th and 13th. Then, when he got to the par-3 14th, he hit another in the water and made yet another double bogey.

On the par-5 16th hole, a pulled drive led to a bogey. And for the first time since early Thursday, English was not the leader, eventually posting three-over 73 after a back-nine 40 for a fourth-place finish.

Instead, it was Hideki Matsutyama, Sam Burns and Abraham Ancer tied at the top at 16 under. That would be the score that got the trio into a playoff for the title and the $1.82 million prize money payout.

In the end, it was Ancer prevailing, making a four-foot birdie on the second playoff hole to claim his first PGA Tour title in his 121st career start. After starting the final round four shots back of English, the 30-year-old native of Mexico shot a closing 68, his highest score of the week, to claim victory.

“This is surreal,” said Ancer, who has four runner-up finishes in his tour career. “I thought I left so many shots out there on the back nine, but you never know. Golf is crazy. There have been some times that I felt I made enough birdies to win and I didn’t win. So this is kind of how it goes. I’m happy I got lucky.”

Here’s the breakdown of the payouts for every golfer competing in the 66-player field where the total purse was $10.5 million. Come back shortly after the end of the tournament and we’ll update with individual names and prize money earned.

Win: Abraham Ancer, 264/-16, $1,820,000

T-2: Sam Burns, 264/-16, $917,500

T-2: Hideki Matsuyama, 264/-16, $917,500

4: Harris English, 265/-15, $515,000

T-5: Daniel Berger, 266/-14, $380,666.67

T-5: Paul Casey, 266/-14, $380,666.67

T-5: Cameron Smith, 266/-14, $380,666.66

T-8: Bryson DeChambeau, 268/-12, $272,500

T-8: Will Zalatoris, 268/-12, $272,500

T-10: Dustin Johnson, 269/-11, $220,000

T-10: Ian Poulter, 269/-11, $220,000

T-12: Rory McIlroy, 270/-10, $186,500

T-12: Jordan Spieth, 270/-10, $186,500

14: Scottie Scheffler, 271/-9, $170,000

T-15: Robert MacIntyre, 272/-8, $155,500

T-15: Webb Simpson, 272/-8, $155,500

T-17: Tyrrell Hatton, 273/-7, $128,000

T-17: Billy Horschel, 273/-7, $128,000

T-17: Phil Mickelson, 273/-7, $128,000

T-17: Joaquin Niemann, 273/-7, $128,000

T-17: Louis Oosthuizen, 273/-7, $128,000

T-17: Matthew Wolff, 273/-7, $128,000

T-23: Patrick Cantlay, 274/-6, $105,000

T-23: Shane Lowry, 274/-6, $105,000

T-23: Kevin Na, 274/-6, $105,000

T-26: Sergio Garcia, 275/-5, $89,000

T-26: Collin Morikawa, 275/-5, $89,000

T-26: Ryan Palmer, 275/-5, $89,000

T-26: Aaron Rai, 275/-5, $89,000

T-26: Justin Thomas, 275/-5, $89,000

T-31: Cameron Champ, 276/-4, $77,000

T-31: Patrick Reed, 276/-4, $77,000

T-31: Lee Westwood, 276/-4, $77,000

T-34: Tony Finau, 277/-3, $69,500

T-34: Jason Kokrak, 277/-3, $69,500

T-36: Corey Conners, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Brian Harman, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Lucas Herbert, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Viktor Hovland, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Marc Leishman, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Carlos Ortiz, 278/-2, $59,000

T-36: Adam Scott, 278/-2, $59,000

T-43: Stewart Cink, 279/-1, $53,000

T-43: Brad Kennedy, 279/-1, $53,000

T-43: Ryosuke Kinoshita, 279/-1, $53,000

T-46: Tommy Fleetwood, 280/E, $49,000

T-46: Jim Herman, 280/E, $49,000

T-46: Sungjae Im, 280/E, $49,000

T-46: Xander Schauffele, 280/E, $49,000

T-46: Robert Streb, 280/E, $49,000

T-51: Max Homa, 281/+1, $45,000

T-51: Matt Jones, 281/+1, $45,000

T-51: Wade Ormsby, 281/+1, $45,000

T-54: Brooks Koepka, 282/+2, $42,000

T-54: K.H. Lee, 282/+2, $42,000

T-54: Justin Rose, 282/+2, $42,000

T-57: Matt Fitzpatrick, 283/+3, $39,166.67

T-57: Lucas Glover, 283/+3, $39,166.67

T-57: Martin Laird, 283/+3, $39,166.66

60: Cam Davis, 285/+5, $38,000

61: Victor Perez, 287/+7, $37,500

62: Min Woo Lee, 288/+8, $37,000

63: Kevin Kisner, 289/+9, $36,500

64: Wilco Nienaber, 290/+10, $36,000

65: Si Woo Kim, 293/+13, $35,500

W/D: Garrick Higgo, 205/-5