Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches

PGA National (Champion Course)


Eight Named To U.S. Walker Cup Team

August 08, 2009

FAR HILLS, N.J. (AP) -- Oklahoma State standout Rickie Fowler is among eight amateur players selected to the U.S. Walker Cup team.

Fowler, the 2008 Ben Hogan Award winner, is joined by Bud Cauley, Brendan Gielow, Brian Harman, Morgan Hoffmann, Adam Mitchell, Nathan Smith and Drew Weaver.

Two more players will be chosen in later this month after the U.S. Amateur at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Okla.

The biennial Walker Cup matches, pitting an American team against a team representing Great Britain and Ireland, will take place Sept. 12-13 at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa.

The U.S. team is captained by George "Buddy" Marucci Jr., who played on the 1995 and 1997 U.S. teams.