News & ToursApril 8, 2015

8 things you didn't know about the Masters Par-3 Contest

The Par-3 Contest has been held since 1960, but really, the most that people know about it is that no one has ever won the Par-3 and won the Masters in the same year. And that kids serve as caddies.

Here are eight tidbits to increase your Masters Par-3 Contest knowledge.

One player has won it who wasn't in the Masters field

Jerry Pate won the Par-3 in 2005 as an honorary invitee. Augusta National invites all former U.S. Open, British Open, PGA Championship, U.S. Amateur and British Amateur champions as non-competing invitees. However, they are allowed to play practice rounds and in the Par-3 if they so desire. Pate fell into that category as the 1975 U.S. Open champion.

Three amateurs have won it

Don't expect it to happen this year as it hasn't occurred since 1976, but Deane Beman (1961), Labron Harris Jr. (1964) and Jay Haas (1976) have all taken home the crystal for the Par-3 winner as amateurs.

Nearly one third of past Par-3 winners have missed the cut

Since its inception in 1960, 18 of the 57 Par-3 champions have gone on to miss the cut in the tournament proper, including the last two winners -- Ted Potter Jr. and Ryan Moore.

View image |



There have been 19 playoffs for the Par-3 title

Although conceived as a fun event, the Par-3 has gone into overtime 19 times. Among the big names winning in extra holes are Arnold Palmer (1967), Sam Snead (1974), Tom Weiskopf (1977) and Tom Watson (1982). The last to go to a playoff was in 2004, won by Padraig Harrington.

Two Par-3 Contests have ended in a tie

Padraig Harrington and David Toms tied in 2003. And when bad weather forced an early end to the event in 2012, Harrington and Jonathan Byrd split the title, giving Harrington a record three Par-3 Contest wins.

There have been 80 holes-in-one made

If you want to see an ace, the Par-3 offers an excellent chance as 80 have been made, including five (a record) in 2002.

Eleven Masters champions have won the Par-3

Although no one has won it in the same year they won, 11 champions have captured the Par-3: Sam Snead, Art Wall Jr., Arnold Palmer, Gay Brewer, Tom Watson, Tommy Aaron, Ben Crenshaw, Ray Floyd, Vijay Singh, Sandy Lyle and Mark O'Meara. Only Singh in 1994 won it prior to winning their first Masters.

Related: Another surprising Tiger twist: He's playing the Par-3 Contest"

View image |

Two players were Masters runner-up in the same year they won the Par-3

Although no one has won the Masters and Par-3 in the same year, two have come close. Ray Floyd lost in a playoff to Nick Faldo in 1990 and Chip Beck, he of the infamous lay-up on the 15th hole, was runner-up to Bernhard Langer in 1993.

Follow @EMichaelGW

More from The Loop