The Country Club set to host four more USGA events, including another U.S. Open and its first U.S. Women's Open

October 05, 2023

Boston Globe

The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., has hosted 17 USGA events since its founding in 1882. On Thursday, the club and the governing body announced four more will come to the historic venue, including a fourth U.S. Open and a first U.S. Women’s Open.

The quartet of future championships include the 2030 U.S. Girls’ Junior, 2034 U.S. Amateur, 2038 U.S. Open and 2045 U.S. Women’s Open.

"This partnership with The Country Club gives juniors, amateurs and professionals alike the opportunity to vie for a USGA championship and etch their names in golfing history at one of the nation’s most iconic venues," said John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer, in a press release. "We look forward to witnessing the incredible talent and passion that will be on display in the coming years."

One of the USGA’s five founding member clubs, The Country Club last hosted the U.S. Open in 2022 when Matt Fitzpatrick won the title by a stroke over Will Zalatoris and Scottie Scheffler. The Englishman also won the U.S. Amateur when it was played for the sixth and most recent time there in 2013. Fitzpatrick joined Jack Nicklaus as the only golfer to win a U.S. Amateur and U.S. Open at the same club.


Matt Fitzpatrick's U.S. Open win at The Country Club in 2022, after winning the U.S. Amateur there in 2013, made him just the second golfer in history to win the two titles on the same course. The other: Jack Nicklaus at Pebble Beach.

Andrew Redington

When the U.S. Girls’ Junior is held in 2030 it will mark 80 years since the only previous time the championship has been played at The Country Club.

By hosting the U.S. Women’s Open in 2045, The Country Club will become just the 23rd course to have hosted the men’s and women’s national championship. Fifteen have already done so while another seven will accomplish the feat between now and 2045 before TCC joins them.

The Country Club/USGA championships

1902 U.S. Women’s Amateur: Genevieve Hecker

1910 U.S. Amateur: William Fownes Jr.

1913 U.S. Open: Francis Ouimet

1922 U.S. Amateur: Jess Sweetser

1932 Walker Cup: United States

1934 U.S. Amateur: Lawson Little

1941 U.S. Women’s Amateur: Betty Hicks Newell

1953 U.S. Girls’ Junior: Mildred Meyerson

1957 U.S. Amateur: Hillman Robbins

1963 U.S. Open: Julius Boros

1968 U.S. Junior: Eddie Pearce

1973 Walker Cup: United States

1982 U.S. Amateur: Jay Sigel

1988 U.S. Open: Curtis Strange

1995 U.S. Women’s Amateur: Kelli Kuehne

2013 U.S. Amateur: Matt Fitzpatrick

2022 U.S. Open: Matt Fitzpatrick