PGA Championship

Valhalla Golf Club

The Loop

USA men's World Amateur team selected

August 29, 2010

__UNIVERSITY PLACE, WASH.--USA World Amateur Team captain__Fred RIdley will have a trio of collegiate golfers on top of their games at the ready when the American squad heads to Argentina in October to compete for the Eisenhower Trophy in the biennial event.

Selected for the men's squad are U.S. Amateur champion Peter Uihlein, runner-up__David Chung__ and NCAA champion Scott Langley.

Uihlein's summer was capped with his 4-and-2 victory over Chung Sunday at Chambers Bay. Additionally the Oklahoma State junior claimed the title at the Sahalee Players Championship in July by seven strokes.

Despite losing to Uihlein in the Amateur final, Chung, a Stanford junior, claimed two prestigious victories this summer at the Porter Cup and Western Amateur.

After winning medalist honors at NCAAs in June, Langley qualified for the U.S. Open, where he finished T-16 securing a share of low amateur honors. The Illinois senior went on to reach the quarterfinals last week at Chambers Bay to secure his spot on the team.

All three golfers have experience competing for the U.S. in international competition. Uihlein was a member of the victorious Walker Cup squad last September, posting a 4-0 record in the competition. Chung and Langley both compete for the American side in the Palmer Cup this June.

"The players selected for the USA team all have played tremendous golf throughout their careers and on grand stages in 2010," Ridley said in a press release. "More importantly, they are fine young men of character and each possess the human qualities which the game of golf represents. It is my distinct honor to captain these young men as they compete for the Eisenhower Trophy. We will represent the United States and the USGA with great pride."

Georgia senior Russell Henley and Oklahoma State junior Morgan Hoffmann have been named the first and second alternates.

The last time the U.S. won the World Amateur Team title was in Puerto Rico in 2004. The competition will take place Oct. 28-31 at Olivos GC and Buenos Aires GC.