News & ToursJune 5, 2011

UCLA's Cantlay claims D-I Nicklaus Award

Don Liebig/ASUCLA

Patrick Cantlay head shot.jpeg

__STILLWATER, Okla.—__UCLA's Patrick Cantlay couldn't catch LSU's John Peterson last Thursday during the final round of the NCAA Championship's individual race, losing to the Tiger senior by one stroke. But the runner-up finish did help the Bruin freshman secure the GCAA's Jack Nicklaus Award, given to the college player of the year.

Cantlay finished his rookie season with seven top-five finishes, including wins at the Gifford Championship, USC Invitational and the West Regional. He also set the UCLA single-season scoring mark with a 70.5 average. On Thursday he was named a first-team All-American as well as the winner of the Phil Mickelson Award, given to the nation's top freshman.

The GCAA also announced the Nicklaus Award winners for the other college divisions:

  • Abilene Christian's Alex Carpenter, who sported a 70.89 stroke average and won  seven tournaments in 2010-11.

  • Centre College's Chris Morris, who capped his senior season by winning the NCAA individual title.

  • Oklahoma Christian's Oscar Stark, the NAIA individual champion who also led his the Eagles to the team title.

  • Meridian CC's Brandt Garon, who a four-time winner at the junior college level in 2010-11.

More from The Loop