PGA Championship

Valhalla Golf Club

Next up

New Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy golf league announces owner for Atlanta franchise

August 21, 2023

Christian Petersen

Three down, three to go. TGL, the new tech golf league created by Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy announced Monday that its third of six teams will be based in Atlanta and owned by Arthur Blank, owner of the football’s Atlanta Falcons and soccer’s Atlanta United.

The first season of what is being billed as a tech-forward, primetime, team golf league launches in January 2024. It was previously announced that Alexis Ohanian, Serena Williams and Venus Williams will lead Los Angeles Golf Club while Fenway Sports Group will lead the TGL Boston team.

“We are thrilled to partner with TMRW Sports and be a founding owner in TGL,” Blank said in a release. “I see this as an investment to grow the game, deliver an innovative product to avid fans while exposing golf to new, younger audiences, and another way for us to compete for championships for Atlanta. We will put our best foot forward in effort to achieve all three goals and to help TGL achieve success in any way we can.”

Blank is co-founder of The Home Depot, owner of PGA Tour Superstore and his sports and entertainment division also own Mercedes-Benz Stadium, home to his Falcons and United, as well as other major concerts and sporting events.

“He has been a stalwart supporter of golf at every level and has been engaged throughout much of TMRW Sports’ journey to develop TGL,” said Mike McCarley, CEO of TMRW Sports and TGL. “His expertise in building not only great sports teams, but also strong organizations with his successful business enterprises, is the type of leadership we appreciate and welcome to TGL.”

The league will be staged at an arena on the campus of Palm Beach (Fla.) State College. Aside from Woods and McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Matt Fitzpatrick, Justin Rose, Adam Scott, Xander Schauffele, Max Homa, Rickie Fowler, and Billy Horschel have all committed to compete.

Atlanta’s team name, brand, staff and players will be unveiled later this year.