Travelers Championship

TPC River Highlands


Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy tech league announces first team

June 08, 2023

Christian Petersen

The Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy-led tech golf league announced its first team and ownership group Thursday.

The league, in partnership with the PGA Tour, announced the Los Angeles Golf Club as the first of six teams, owned by tennis stars Serena and Venus Williams and Serena’s husband, 776 founder Alexis Ohanian.

A roster for the team was not announced. Currently, 12 players have committed to playing in the league, including Woods, McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Matt Fitzpatrick, Justin Rose, Adam Scott, Xander Schauffele, Max Homa, Billy Horschel, and Rickie Fowler. Another six players are expected to be announced at a later day.

The league is expected to begin play in January 2024 in a purpose-built arena in Palm Beach, Fla. It is unclear how the league will be affected by Tuesday’s news of the PGA Tour’s partnership with Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund.