Charles Schwab Challenge

Colonial Country Club

The Loop

This could be the most humiliating penalty ever incurred

November 10, 2015

Mike Clayton won nine times on various professional tours, so it's fair to say his career deserves to be known for more than one ignonimous putt from some two decades ago.

But still . . . this is . . . how do you . . .

Just watch.

Now, as for the damage done -- notwithstanding the endless ribbing and self-loathing that follows such a sequence -- Clayton was at least provided some leniency via the Rules of Golf. Although there are actual two moments when Clayton deflected his ball-- first when he throws his putter, and then when his elbow hits it -- the rules dictate you can't incur two penalties for one continuous motion. Thus, Clayton was only assessed a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2: Ball At Rest Moved By Player, Partner, Caddie Or Equipment. In either scenario, the ball should be replaced.

So there you have it. The lesson here is you shouldn't hit a ball you're not intending to hit. And if you do, for the love of God, don't let anyone videotape it.