Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches

PGA National (Champion Course)

the arnies

The spirit of Arnold Palmer lives on in the Arnies

January 23, 2024

Palmer: Getty Images; McIlory: Mary Beth Koeth

Arnold Palmer epitomized achievement and philanthropy in golf. “When you’ve reached the top, send the elevator back down for the others”—that’s the essence of the Arnie Award, given annually by Golf Digest in recognition of golfers who give back.

This is the 12th-consecutive year we’ve celebrated the game’s benevolent spirit, partnering with the Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation and the Monterey Peninsula Foundation. Rory McIlroy, the 2024 Arnie Award winner, will be honored at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am and at the Arnold Palmer Invitational with a Palmer bronze sculpture created by the renowned artist Zenos Frudakis. Golf Digest will donate a total of $100,000 to the two foundations.

The Monterey Peninsula Foundation is the most charitable organization on the PGA Tour, supporting more than 200 nonprofits with $18 million donated just last year and $123 million in the past decade. It’s one of the major funders in the central coast of California, building a community park, preschool and soccer complex in East Salinas; deploying $1 million in emergency funding for storm and flood relief; and supporting a health and housing campus serving low-income residents in Santa Cruz County (visit

Arnold and Winnie Palmer devoted much of their time away from golf to provide opportunities that benefited young people, championing causes “not just about golf but efforts made possible because of golf.” The Palmers were dedicated to improving children’s health in communities around the world, pioneering character-development initiatives and improving nature-focused wellness for kids. Among the beneficiaries have been the Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children and the Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women and Babies (for more information, see the


Canelo Alvarez
Arnie’s Army
Clint Eastwood
Niall Horan
Juli Inkster
Toby Keith
Davis Love III
Peyton Manning
Phil Mickelson
Jim Nantz
Ryan Palmer
Morgan Pressel
Darius Rucker
Kelly Slater
Brandt Snedeker
Jordan Spieth
Clay Walker
Steve Young