Fortinet Championship

Silverado Resort and Spa North

2020 Sony Open tee times, viewer's guide

January 12, 2020

Sam Greenwood

The second of back-to-back Hawaii stops for the PGA Tour, and the first full-field tournament since the RSM Classic in November, commences this week at the 2020 Sony Open, with a field of 144 golfers descending on Waialae Country Club in Honolulu.

Justin Thomas was the headliner at this week's event after a playoff victory at the Tournament of Champions. Since 2017, Thomas had gone a combined 101 under at the Sentry TOC and Sony Open, having pulled off the Sentry-Sony double that year, too. However, he struggled in high winds at Waialae, shooting rounds of 72 and 71 to miss the cut by two strokes.

A similar disappointing fate happened to defending champion Matt Kuchar, who a year ago claimed a four-shot victory at Waialae, but who missed the cut on Friday by one stroke after rounds of 69 and 73.

This year marks the 55th consecutive year that Waialae Country Club has hosted the Hawaiian Open, a mark topped by just three other courses. The winner of this event will receive 500 FedEx Cup points and a $1,188,000 share of the $6.6 million purse.

TV Schedule

Golf Channel will carry live coverage from Thursday through Saturday from 7-10:30 p.m. (eastern) and on Saturday and Sunday from 6-10 p.m., EDT.

Sunday Tee Times (Eastern time/local times)

Tee No. 1

3:50 p.m./10:50 a.m. -- Corey Conners, Michael Thompson, Matt Jones

4 p.m./11 a.m. -- Rob Oppenheim, Pat Perez, Nate Lashley

4:10 p.m./11:10 a.m. -- Graeme McDowell, Tim Wilkinson, Vaughn Taylor

4:20 p.m./11:20 a.m. -- Ben Martin, Brendon Todd, Zach Johnson

4:30 p.m./11:30 a.m. -- Emiliano Grillo, Patrick Rodgers, Ted Potter, Jr.

4:40 p.m./11:40 a.m. -- Nick Taylor, Peter Malnati, Tom Hoge

4:50 p.m./11:50 a.m. -- Rory Sabbatini, Russell Knox, Cameron Davis

5 p.m./12 noon -- Keegan Bradley, Charles Howell III, Henrik Norlander

5:10 p.m./12:10 p.m. -- Mark Anderson, Sungjae Im, Bo Hoag

5:20 p.m./12:20 p.m. -- Webb Simpson, Collin Morikawa, Ryan Palmer

5:30 p.m./12:30 p.m. -- Brendan Steele, Cameron Smith, Kevin Kisner

Tee No. 10

3:50 p.m./10:50 a.m. -- Brandt Snedeker, D.J. Trahan, Joel Dahmen

4 p.m./11 a.m. -- Lanto Griffin, Sam Ryder, Hideki Matsuyama

4:10 p.m./11:10 a.m. -- Jimmy Walker, Marc Leishman, Alex Noren

4:20 p.m./11:20 a.m. -- Matthew NeSmith, Michael Gellerman, Abraham Ancer

4:30 p.m./11:30 a.m. -- Andrew Putnam, Daniel Berger, Scott Piercy

4:40 p.m./11:40 a.m. -- Brian Harman, Satoshi Kodaira, Rikuya Hoshino

4:50 p.m./11:50 a.m. -- Kramer Hickok, Chase Seiffert, Hudson Swafford

5 p.m./12 noon -- Jerry Kelly, Scott Harrington, Talor Gooch

5:10 p.m./12:10 p.m. -- Rhein Gibson, Joseph Bramlett, Carlos Ortiz

5:20 p.m./12:20 p.m. -- Joaquin Niemann, Zac Blair, Brian Stuard

5:30 p.m./12:30 p.m. -- Harry Higgs, Sepp Straka, Mikumu Horikawa