Mexico Open at Vidanta

Vidanta Vallarta

Tee Times

2024 Sony Open tee times, TV coverage, viewer's guide

January 09, 2024

Harry How

The PGA Tour does it right. Instead of the gray, rainy January weather one could find in most of the continental U.S. right now, the Sony Open will run it back in Hawaii this week. High 70s and the sun never hurt, especially to start off a new year.

Another shining moment will be Gary Woodland’s return to competitive golf after surgery to remove a brain lesion back in September. This will be the 2019 U.S. Open winner’s first tour event since the Wyndham Championship last August. He tied for third at Waialae Country Club in 2015, but just being able to tee off this week in Honolulu is a win by itself.

Woodland will be joined by Will Zalatoris who is set to play his first official tour event since the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play last March. Back surgery sidelined Willy Z for most of last year, although he did get in one start late at the Tiger Woods-hosted Hero World Challenge to close out 2023.

Other notable names in Hawaii include Tyrrell Hatton, Ludvig Aberg, Chris Kirk, Hideki Matsuyama, Sahith Theegala and Zach Johnson. Last year's winner Si Woo Kim will be back as well to defend his title. He won in 2023 behind weekend rounds of 64-64 to best Hayden Buckley by a single shot.

The winner will receive 500 FedEx Cup points and a $1.494 million share of the $8.3 million purse.

Waialae Country Club
Waialae Country Club
Honolulu, HI
27 Panelists

Waialae Country Club is the only Seth Raynor design on the PGA Tour schedule. In the 1960s, much of the front nine had to be rerouted due the construction of a nearby hotel, but many Raynor elements can still be found, particularly after Tom Doak and his Renaissance Design team’s work over the past decade-plus. Though the now iconic ‘W’s in the trees on the 16th hole (the club’s seventh) are the most recognizable feature of the course, true architectural buffs will appreciate the par-3 17th hole and its Redan green, plus the Biarritz on the fourth.

View Course

TV schedule

Golf Channel will carry live coverage on Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 7-10:30 p.m. EST. Sunday’s coverage will run from 4-6 p.m. EST on NBC and then 6-8 p.m. on Golf Channel.

Streaming schedule

PGA Tour Live streaming coverage takes place on ESPN+ from 12 noon-10:30 p.m. on Thursday and Friday, 3:30-10:30 p.m. on Saturday and 1-8 p.m. on Sunday. Streaming will include featured group coverage and featured hole coverage (Waialae's par-4 16th hole).


Find all live PGA Tour scoring data here.

Tee Times (All times EDT)


First tee

3:10 p.m. -- Will Gordon, J.T. Poston, Scott Stallings

3:20 p.m. -- Ben Silverman, Robby Shelton, Greyson Sigg

3:30 p.m. -- Si Woo Kim, Brendon Todd, Russell Henley

3:40 p.m. -- Zac Blair, Tyrrell Hatton, Luke List

3:50 p.m. -- Ludvig Åberg, Ben Kohles, Alex Noren

4 p.m. -- Matt Wallace, S.H. Kim, Webb Simpson

4:10 p.m. -- Sam Stevens, Jake Knapp, Aaron Rai

4:20 p.m. -- Taiga Semikawa, Troy Merritt, Joseph Bramlett

4:30 p.m. -- Akshay Bhatia, Patton Kizzire, Andrew Putnam

4:40 p.m. -- Matthieu Pavon, Keegan Bradley, Harris English

4:50 p.m. -- Chris Kirk, Grayson Murray, Stephan Jaeger

5 p.m. -- Keith Mitchell, Taylor Montgomery, Kurt Kitayama

5:10 p.m. -- Ben Griffin, Stewart Cink, Cam Davis

5:20 p.m. -- Carl Yuan, Austin Eckroat , Byeong Hun An

10th tee

3:10 p.m. -- Erik van Rooyen, Taylor Pendrith, Dylan Wu

3:20 p.m. -- Harry Hall, Chandler Phillips, Tyson Alexander

3:30 p.m. -- Patrick Rodgers, Nick Taylor, Nico Echavarria

3:40 p.m. -- Billy Horschel, Yuto Katsuragawa, Alejandro Tosti

3:50 p.m. -- Mark Hubbard, Emiliano Grillo, Ryo Hisatsune

4 p.m. -- Norman Xiong, Charley Hoffman, Maverick McNealy

4:10 p.m. -- Brian Harman, Justin Rose, K.H. Lee

4:20 p.m. -- Robert MacIntyre, Justin Lower, Brandon Wu

4:30 p.m. -- Garrick Higgo, Nick Hardy, Eric Cole

4:40 p.m. -- Seamus Power, Corey Conners, Martin Trainer

4:50 p.m. -- Michael Kim, Parker Coody, Denny McCarthy

5 p.m. -- Davis Thompson, Tyler Duncan, Hideki Matsuyama

5:10 p.m. -- Adam Svensson, Matt NeSmith

5:20 p.m. -- Lanto Griffin, Joel Dahmen