The Loop

Seven new members of GCAA Hall of Fame

October 30, 2013

Seven inductees will be part of the Golf Coaches Association of America's Hall of Fame Class of 2013 to be honored Dec. 9 in Las Vegas during the GCAA's national convention.

Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

Dave Jennings, Central Alabama

Bud Marsee, Broward CC

John Means, Colorado State/Army/Minnesota/Idaho

Jim Owen, Oglethorpe

Guy Spears, Eaton Golf Pride

Thomas Trueblood, Michigan

Between the six coaches, the group won five national titles, more than 30 conference championships and dozens of All-Americans. Spears earned his spot via the contributors category after working for Eaton for 25 years as a sales manager and Director of Special Programs/Collegiate Golf for the company.

Trueblood, who coached the Wolverines from 1901-35 and was a coach or professor at the university from 1884-1951, will be inductee posthumously