The Loop

Recapping the Par-3 Contest

April 10, 2008

AUGUSTA, Ga. -- Rory Sabbatini made five 2s to shoot a five-under-par 22 and win the Par-3 Contest on Wednesday afternoon. Sabbatini's winning score was two shots shy of the tournament record shared by Art Wall Jr. (1965) and Gay Brewer Jr. (1973). Among the other highlights from Wednesday's Contest:

Paul Azinger, Charles Coody, Fred Couples and Wayne Grady made holes-in-one, bringing the total to 67 holes-in-one made since the inception of the Par-3 Contest in 1960.

Trophies are awarded to the winner and to the contestants who place their tee shots nearest the hole. Closest to the hole winners Wednesday:

Hole No. 1 (130 yards): Arnold Palmer, 23 inches

Hole No. 2 (70 yards) : Paul Azinger, hole-in-one

Hole No. 3 (90 yards): Charles Coody, hole-in-one

Hole No. 4 (130 yards): D.J. Trahan, 34 inches

Hole No. 5 (130 yards): Stewart Cink, 15 inches

Hole No. 6 (140 yards): Bret Wetterich, 22 inches

Hole No. 7 (115 yards): Fred Couples, hole-in-one

Hole No. 8 (120 yards): K.J. Choi, 47 inches

Hole No. 9 (135 yards): Wayne Grady, hole-in-one

Recent champions

2008 Rory Sabbatini

2007 Mark O'Meara

2006 Ben Crane

2005 Jerry Pate

2004 Padraig Harrington

2003 Padraig Harrington and David Toms

2002 Nick Price

2001 David Toms

2000 Chris Perry