PGA Championship

Valhalla Golf Club

The Loop

PGA Tour tweaks tournament eligibility categories

October 31, 2009

MADISON, Miss. -- Not that it's likely to have a significant impact on tournament fields, but the PGA Tour has made a change to some of its bottom-tier membership categories beginning in 2010.

Players in the Past Champions, Team Tournament Winners and Veteran Members categories have to fulfill one of the following criteria to remain eligible for tournament berths:

There are 33 membership categories on the PGA Tour. The three in question are Nos. 30, 31 and 33, respectively.

-- Dave Shedloski