RBC Canadian Open

Hamilton Golf & Country Club


PGA Championship 2024: Here's the full field competing at Valhalla

May 12, 2024

We’re days from the start of the 2024 PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky., and the full field for the second men’s major of the year is finally complete.

Sixteen past champions are listed among the field to compete. Among them is Brooks Koepka, winner a year ago at Oak Hill when he shot a closing 67 to outpace Viktor Hovland and win the Wanamaker Trophy for the third time in his career. Koepka is also coming with momentum after winning his fourth career LIV event last week in Singapore.

Also in the field is Tiger Woods. A four-time PGA winner, including memorably in a playoff over Bob May at Valhalla in 2000, Woods has not officially announced if he will be playing or not, but the PGA Championship's social media handle showed video of him practicing this week at Valhalla.

Woods did not compete at last year’s PGA after undergoing fusion surgery on his right ankle a month earlier. He has made only two starts in PGA Tour events since the surgery: the Genesis Invitational in February, where he withdrew because of the flu during the second round, and the Masters last month, where he made his record-breaking 24th straight cut at Augusta while finishing 60th. His most recent PGA Championship start was 2022, where he made the cut at Southern Hills but withdrew after the third round.

Much of the qualifying criteria closed last Monday, and the PGA of America released the full field for the 105th championship on Tuesday. Koepka was among nine LIV golfers who were already exempt or announced as in the field, along with past PGA champions Phil Mickelson and Martin Kaymer. Seven other LIV golfers also qualified, either thanks to the position on the PGA Championship points list or via special invitation.

Chris Gotterup, winner of the Myrtle Beach Classic on Sunday, and S.H. Kim claimed the final two spots in the field; Kim earned his spot when Rory McIlroy, who already had qualified for the championship, claimed victory at the Wells Fargo. On Monday, Taylor Montgomery withdrew, with C.T. Pan replacing him in the field.

Here’s the full list in alphabetical order:

Valhalla Golf Club
Valhalla Golf Club
Louisville, KY
102 Panelists
Given a difficult piece of land on which to create Valhalla (half the site was floodplain, with high-tension power poles), Jack Nicklaus drew on his training under Pete Dye and Desmond Muirhead to produce a unique design, with an alternate fairway par 5, a par 4 with an island green and an 18th green shaped like a horseshoe. Over the decades, Nicklaus returned periodically to update its challenges, and the club rebuilt bunkers and replaced its soft bent grass fairways with firmer, faster zoysia in 2022. Valhalla has proven to be a great championship site. It has hosted three thrilling PGA Championships, the latest Rory McIlroy’s win in 2014, and will host a fourth in 2024.
View Course

Ludvig Åberg

Byeong Hun An

Rich Beem

Josh Bevell (CP)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout

Akshay Bhatia

Alexander Björk

Zac Blair

Michael Block (CP)

Evan Bowser (CP)

Keegan Bradley

Dean Burmester

Sam Burns

Parick Cantlay

Wyndham Clark

Eric Cole

Preston Cole (CP)

Tyler Collet (CP)

Corey Conners

John Daly

Cameron Davis

Jason Day

Bryson DeChambeau

Thomas Detry

Matt Dobyns (CP)

Luke Donald

Jason Dufner

Nick Dunlap

Austin Eckroat

Harris English

Tony Finau

Matthew Fitzpatrick

Tommy Fleetwood

Rickie Fowler

Ryan Fox

Brice Garnett

Lucas Glover

Talor Gooch

Chris Gotterup

Ben Griffin

Emiliano Grillo

Larkin Gross (CP)

Adam Hadwin

Brian Harman

Padraig Harrington

Tyrrell Hatton

Russell Henley

Lucas Herbert

Ryo Hisatsune

Lee Hodges

Charley Hoffman

Tom Hoge

Nicolai Højgaard

Rasmus Højgaard

Max Homa

Billy Horschel

Rikuya Hoshino

Beau Hossler

Viktor Hovland

Mark Hubbard

Mackenzie Hughes

Sungjae Im

Stephan Jaeger

Dustin Johnson

Jared Jones (CP)

Taukumi Kanaya

Martin Kaymer

Jeff Kellen (CP)

S.H. Kim

Si Woo Kim

Tom Kim

Chris Kirk

Kurt Kitayama

Jake Knapp

Kazuma Kobori

Brooks Koepka

Ben Kohles

Thirston Lawrence

K.H. Lee

Min Woo Lee

Luke List

Shane Lowry

Robert MacIntyre

Peter Malnati

Brad Marek (CP)

Hideki Matsuyama

Denny McCarthy

Rory McIlroy

Maverick McNealy

Kyle Mendoza

Adrian Meronk


Phil Mickelson celebrates with the Wanamaker Trophy after winning the 2021 PGA Championship at Kiawah Island.

Patrick Smith

Shaun Micheel

Phil Mickelson

Keith Mitchell

Franceso Molinari

Taylor Moore

Collin Morikawa

Jesse Mueller (CP)

Grayson Murray

Keita Nakajima

Joaquin Niemann

Alex Noren

Vincent Norrman

Zac Oakley (CP)

Andy Ogletree

Thorbjorn Olesen

Adrian Otaegui

C.T. Pan

Matthieu Pavon

Taylor Pendrith

Victor Perez

Tracy Phillips (CP)

Ben Polland (CP)

J.T. Poston

David Puig

Andrew Putnam

Jon Rahm

Aaron Rai

Patrick Reed

Patrick Rodgers

Justin Rose

Xander Schauffele

Scottie Scheffler

Adam Schenk

Adam Scott

Braden Shattuck (CP)

Alex Smalley

Cameron Smith

Jordan Smith

Sebastian Soderberg

John Somers (CP)

Josh Speight (CP)

Jordan Spieth

Sepp Straka

Adam Svensson

Jesper Svensson

Andy Svoboda (CP)

Nick Taylor

Sahith Theegala

Justin Thomas

Brendon Todd

Alejandro Tosti

Sami Valimaki

Erik van Rooyen

Ryan van Velzen

Camilo Villegas

Jimmy Walker

Matt Wallace

Jeremy Wells (CP)

Tim Widing

Gary Woodland

Tiger Woods

Wyatt Worthington II (CP)

Y.E. Yang,

Cameron Young

Will Zalatoris