PGA Championship 2020: Cameron Tringale disqualified after signing incorrect scorecard
Sean M. Haffey
For the second time in his career, Cameron Tringale has been disqualified in a major championship.
Cameron Tringale had just finished his round and was having lunch on Friday at TPC Harding Park when he pulled up the PGA Championship’s app on his phone to check his position on the leaderboard.
The 32-year-old was hovering right on the cut line at one over par with the afternoon wave still to come. That’s when Tringale noticed something was wrong: He’d signed for a par on the par-3 eighth hole when in fact he’d made a bogey after missing the green right, chipping to 14 feet and missing the putt.
“I went back to the scoring area and told them what I noticed,” he said via text.
You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade to Internet Explorer 11 or use a different web browser.
Tringale, who’d shot a one-under 69 after three birdies and two bogeys and not the 68 he signed for, was disqualified under Rule 3.3b(3) for signing an incorrect scorecard.
It marked the second time that Tringale has been disqualified from a major. He was also DQ’d for a similar error at the 2014 PGA at Valhalla after contacting officials the week after the event to alert them of a scorecard error he’d committed in the final round.
This one also proved a tough break for the veteran tour pro. Triangle had arrived in San Francisco off a T-3 in his last start, at last month’s 3M Open, and was playing in his first major since the 2016 PGA Championship at Baltusrol.