U.S. Open

Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2)

The Loop

Men's conference championships wrap up


The final few days of conference championships wasn't as unpredictable as the previous weekend. Five of the final eight men's titles up for grabs went to repeat winners: Notre Dame, San Diego State, Kent State, Wichita State and UC Davis.

All five Aztecs finished in the top 17 individually to allow SDSU to become the first back-to-back Mountain West Conference champions since 2005-06. It was also the fourth straight time the team had won a tournament played at Omni Tucson National Resort, with SDSU winning the 2012 NIT title there earlier this spring, last year's MWC crown and the 2011 NCAA West Regional.

Kent State won by 40 strokes at the Mid-American Conference Championship after bad weather forced the fourth round to be canceled at Rich Harvest Farms outside of Chicago. At one point the Golden Flashes' lead was up to 50 strokes before the final round was officially  washed out. Kent State's victory margin was still the fourth largest in MAC history (the largest being 44 strokes set in 1960 by Ohio) and it was the fourth straight MAC title and 20th overall for the school in the event's 66 years.

Wichita State made it five straight Missouri Valley Conference title after a decisive 18-stroke victory over Missouri State. The Shockers' Hunter Sparks was medalist at Prairie Dunes in Hutchinson, Kan., with a seven-over 217 score after losing in a playoff last year for the individual title. All five Wichita State players posted top-10 finishes.

San Jose State won the WAC title for the first time in school history. It was the Spartans first conference title of any sort since 1996.

Mount St. Mary's will be playing in NCAA Regionals for the first time in school history after winning an automatic bid when the squad won its first Northeast Conference Championship.