Charles Schwab Challenge

Colonial Country Club

The Loop

Illinois men keep Big Ten streak alive

By Ryan Herrington

Led by reigning NCAA champion Thomas Pieters, Illinois won its fifth-straight Big Ten men's title, outpacing Minnesota by nine strokes at French Lick (Ind.) Resort's Pete Dye course. The Fighting Illini became only the third program in the 94-year history of the Big Ten tournament to win five straight titles, joining Michigan (1932-36) and Ohio State (1976-80, 1982-87) as the only programs to "five-peat."

Pieters won the medalist honors with a four-under 284 total, beating teammate Brian Campbell and Minnesota's Erik Van Rooyan by five strokes.

Other conference titles of note that were decided this weekend:

Here is a look at the conference championships through this weekend: