Harrington, Watson, Green And Dye Honored By Golf Writers


Padraig Harrington received the ASAPA/Jim Murray Award for cooperation with the media.

Tom Watson, Padraig Harrington, Ken Green and course architect Pete Dye have been honored with three of the Golf Writers Association of America's most prestigious awards.

Watson, 60, a Hall-of-Famer and the 2009 British Open runner-up, and Green, who lost part of his right leg in an accident that claimed the lives of his brother and girlfriend, both received the Ben Hogan award, given for remaining active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness. This year marks the first-ever tie for the award.

Harrington, a three-time major winner, received the ASAPSports/Jim Murray award, which honors a golfer for cooperation with the media. Dye, whose course designs include TPC Sawgrass, Whistling Straits, Black Wolf Run and PGA West, received the William D. Richardson Award, given to individuals who have consistently made an outstanding contribution to golf.

Watson, Harrington, Green and Dye will be honored April 7 in Augusta, Ga., at the annual GWAA Awards dinner. Players of the Year Tiger Woods, Jiyai Shin and Loren Roberts will also be honored.

Harrington, 38, was the 2008 GWAA Male Player of the Year, and Watson was the recipient of the Charlie Bartlett Award in 2004. Green, 51, is rehabilitating and determined to return to the Champions Tour.