September 17, 2009

Readers' Choice Rankings: The Top 50 Resort Courses

• SELECTED PHOTO HIGHLIGHTS: Public | Private | Resort | The Best of the Best

[Ljava.lang.String;@53023230
__1.__ __[Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Kiawah Island, S.C.](http://www.kiawahresort.com/)__   [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c59]|||quality of course||| [#image: /photos/55ada097add713143b43cb52]|||course conditions||| [#image: /photos/55ada097add713143b43cb54]|||reputation/prestige||| [#image: /photos/55ada098add713143b43cb5f]|||practice facilities||| [#image: /photos/55ada098add713143b43cb63]|||speed of play||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c5c]|||clubhouse||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c68]|||accomodations||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c74]|||Golf Pro Shop||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c6e]|||food/dining||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c65]|||activities/anemities||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c6b]|||service||| [#image: /photos/55ada099b01eefe207f80c7b]|||overall value|||Total   9.64 9.52 9.70 9.30 8.99 9.31 9.60 9.36 9.32 9.39 9.43 8.87 95.18 __2.__ __[Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bandon, Ore.](http://www.bandondunesgolf.com/)__   9.65 9.31 9.68 9.31 8.74 8.68 9.08 9.17 8.86 8.05 9.23 8.73 93.38 __3.__ __[Turning Stone Resort, Verona, N.Y.](http://www.turningstone.com/)__   9.24 9.44 9.13 9.32 8.44 9.23 9.20 9.07 8.78 9.10 9.41 8.49 92.48 __4.__ __[Coeur d'Alene Resort, Coeur D'Alene, Idaho](http://www.cdaresort.com/)__   9.07 9.51 9.22 8.67 8.63 8.73 9.28 8.94 8.89 9.03 9.32 8.34 91.93 __5.__ __[Whistling Straits GC, Haven, Wis.](http://www.akohlerexperience.com/golf/ws/ws_index.html)__   9.51 9.13 9.58 8.72 7.55 8.91 9.17 8.84 8.64 8.15 8.95 7.64 91.37 __6.__ __[Reynolds Plantation, Greensboro, Ga.](http://www.reynoldsplantation.com/golf/courses)__   9.19 9.16 9.08 9.16 8.57 8.82 9.44 8.98 8.82 8.97 9.10 8.43 91.29 __7.__ __[Sea Island GC, St. Simons Island, Ga.](http://www.seaisland.com/16/Home.htm)__   9.00 9.33 9.53 9.14 8.53 9.13 9.80 8.80 9.20 9.29 9.20 8.27 91.83 __8.__ __[Pinehurst Resort, Pinehurst, N.C.](http://www.pinehurst.com/)__   9.32 9.06 9.62 9.07 7.91 8.89 9.16 9.30 8.88 8.81 8.98 8.06 91.13 __9.__ __[TPC Sawgrass, Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.](http://www.tpc.com/sawgrass/)__   9.49 9.18 9.63 9.28 7.76 9.18 8.61 9.27 8.41 8.26 8.68 8.23 91.01 __10.__ __[Mauna Kea Beach GC, Kamuela, Hawaii](http://www.princeresortshawaii.com/mauna-kea-resort-hawaii.php)__   9.31 8.97 9.33 8.44 8.31 8.66 9.52 8.66 8.94 9.18 8.94 8.17 90.94 __11.__ __[Princeville Resort, Princeville, Hawaii](http://www.princeville.com/)__   9.26 8.78 9.42 8.90 8.52 8.86 9.40 9.17 8.88 9.42 9.11 8.54 90.84 __12.__ __[Bay Creek Resort & Club, Cape Charles, Va.](http://www.baycreek.net/)__   9.26 9.37 9.11 9.11 8.68 8.47 8.50 8.95 8.60 8.00 8.89 8.68 90.75 __13.__ __[The Greenbrier, White Sulphur Springs, W.Va.](http://www.greenbrier.com/site/)__   [#image: /photos/55ada098add713143b43cb6c]|||quality of course||| [#image: /photos/55ada098b01eefe207f80c77]|||course conditions||| [#image: /photos/55ada099add713143b43cb6f]|||reputation/prestige||| [#image: /photos/55ada099add713143b43cb78]|||practice facilities||| [#image: /photos/55ada099b01eefe207f80c80]|||speed of play||| [#image: /photos/55ada099b01eefe207f80c82]|||clubhouse||| [#image: /photos/55ada09ab01eefe207f80c87]|||accomodations||| [#image: /photos/55ada0acb01eefe207f80c93]|||Golf Pro Shop||| [#image: /photos/55ada099add713143b43cb7d]|||food/dining||| [#image: /photos/55ada0acb01eefe207f80c8d]|||activities/anemities||| [#image: /photos/55ada0acadd713143b43cb86]|||service||| [#image: /photos/55ada0acadd713143b43cb8a]|||overall value|||Total   8.93 8.96 9.33 8.89 8.04 9.28 9.81 8.89 9.48 9.28 9.26 8.41 90.71 __14.__ __[Blackwolf Run, Kohler, Wis.](http://www.destinationkohler.com/golf/bwr/bwr_index.html?id=dst&ppcde=275964465)__   9.33 9.20 9.36 8.57 7.47 8.67 9.21 8.71 8.69 7.91 8.88 7.77 90.69 __15.__ __[Shadow Creek GC, North Las Vegas, Nev.](http://www.shadowcreek.com/pages/index_flash.htm)__   9.21 8.86 9.31 8.72 9.24 9.00 9.21 8.29 9.04 9.33 9.28 7.79 90.64 __16.__ __[Broadmoor GC, Colorado Springs, Colo.](http://www.broadmoor.com/)__   9.07 8.90 9.24 8.21 7.76 9.18 9.66 8.71 9.13 9.10 9.30 7.90 90.38 __17.__ __[ChampionsGate Golf Resort, ChampionsGate, Fla.](http://www.championsgategolf.com/)__   8.92 9.03 9.12 9.17 8.59 8.97 9.37 9.12 9.04 9.33 9.13 8.69 90.32 __17.__ __[Poipu Bay GC, Koloa, Hawaii](http://www.poipubaygolf.com/)__   9.15 9.06 8.96 8.71 8.09 8.83 9.49 8.93 8.74 9.31 8.87 8.07 90.32 __19.__ __[Circling Raven GC, Worley, Idaho](http://www.cdacasino.com/)__   9.38 9.29 8.66 8.64 8.21 8.48 8.13 8.91 8.21 8.30 8.97 8.82 90.23 __20.__ __[World Golf Village, St. Augustine, Fla.](http://www.wgv.com/)__   9.09 9.00 9.07 8.93 8.35 8.63 9.03 8.81 8.63 8.82 8.95 8.53 89.80 __21.__ __[Kapalua Resort, Kapalua, Hawaii](http://www.kapalua.com/)__   9.06 8.97 9.30 8.24 8.02 9.00 9.26 8.89 9.08 9.30 8.82 8.03 89.70 __22.__ __[Stonewall Resort, Roanoke, W.Va.](http://www.stonewallresort.com/)__   9.36 9.14 8.73 8.55 7.73 8.18 8.81 8.45 8.15 8.70 8.55 8.27 89.57 __23.__ __[The Wilderness at Fortune Bay, Tower, Minn.](http://www.golfthewilderness.com/)__   9.29 9.14 8.76 8.52 7.95 8.39 8.50 8.33 8.38 8.70 8.67 8.81 89.49 __24.__ __[RTJ Golf Trail at Ross Bridge Golf Resort, Hoover, Ala.](http://www.rtjgolf.com/rossbridge/)__   9.05 8.91 8.77 8.76 8.10 8.65 9.47 8.95 8.61 8.71 8.86 8.38 89.43 __25.__ __[We-Ko-Pa GC, Fort McDowell, Ariz.](http://www.wekopa.com/)__   9.24 9.24 8.69 8.52 8.05 8.09 8.51 8.65 8.17 8.12 8.66 8.57 89.36 [#image: /photos/55ada0acb01eefe207f80c90]|||symbol key||| __26.__ __[Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Hawaii](http://www.waikoloabeachresort.com)__   [#image: /photos/55ada0b6add713143b43cb90]|||quality of course||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b6b01eefe207f80c97]|||course conditions||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b6b01eefe207f80c9c]|||reputation/prestige||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b6add713143b43cb93]|||practice facilities||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b6b01eefe207f80c9f]|||speed of play||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80ca8]|||clubhouse||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80ca3]|||accomodations||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80cab]|||Golf Pro Shop||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7add713143b43cb9b]|||food/dining||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80caf]|||activities/anemities||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80cb7]|||service||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7b01eefe207f80cb4]|||overall value|||Total   8.97 8.92 8.64 8.79 8.55 8.59 9.31 8.92 8.54 9.32 8.92 8.54 89.27 __27.__ __[St. Ives Resort/Tullymore, Stanwood, Mich.](http://www.tullymoregolf.com)__   9.25 9.28 8.73 8.03 8.25 8.29 8.16 8.53 8.14 7.22 8.74 8.16 88.99 __28.__ __[Pebble Beach GL, Pebble Beach, Calif.](http://www.pebblebeach.com/page.asp?pageName=_Golf_PBGL_Main)__   9.35 8.54 9.72 6.88 6.55 8.31 9.24 8.88 8.84 8.99 8.60 7.08 88.42 __29.__ __[Spyglass Hill GC, Pebble Beach, Calif](http://www.pebblebeach.com/page.asp?pageName=_Golf_Spyglass_Main)__   9.33 8.84 9.33 6.90 7.29 7.00 9.14 7.87 7.43 8.61 8.30 7.70 88.12 __30.__ __[Pine Needles Lodge & GC, Southern Pines, N.C.](http://www.pineneedles-midpines.com/)__   8.97 8.83 9.03 8.55 8.30 8.31 8.32 8.51 8.42 8.27 8.79 8.27 87.69 __31.__ __[Golden Horseshoe GC, Williamsburg, Va.](http://www.colonialwilliamsburgresort.com/golf/)__   8.92 8.66 8.95 7.45 7.62 8.25 9.10 8.36 8.59 8.92 8.67 8.21 87.38 __32.__ __[Treetops Resort, Treetops, Village, Mich.](http://www.treetops.com/)__   9.05 8.86 8.81 8.50 7.86 8.16 7.97 8.36 8.05 8.03 8.83 8.36 87.37 __33.__ __[The Homestead Resort, Hot Springs, Va.](http://www.thehomestead.com/)__   8.81 8.62 9.20 7.34 7.41 7.74 9.09 8.08 8.72 8.79 8.83 7.44 86.84 __34.__ __[The Challenge at Manele/The experience at Koele, Lanai City, Hawaii](http://www.fourseasons.com/manelebay/golf.html/)__   8.82 8.78 8.42 7.41 8.34 8.02 9.25 7.78 8.04 8.19 8.60 7.92 86.82 __35.__ __[PGA National GC, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.](http://www.pgaresort.com/)__   8.78 8.70 8.72 8.79 8.03 8.39 8.67 8.80 8.34 8.74 8.61 8.36 86.78 __36.__ __[Pelican Hill GC, Newport Coast, Calif.](http://www.pelicanhill.com/)__   8.78 8.64 8.59 8.20 7.74 8.69 9.23 8.73 8.66 8.82 8.55 7.52 86.68 __37.__ __[The Boulders Club, Carefree, Ariz.](http://www.bouldersclub.com/)__   8.67 8.76 8.61 8.09 7.84 8.35 9.22 8.52 8.38 8.65 8.64 7.57 86.61 __38.__ __[Bay Harbor GC, Bay Harbor, Mich.](http://www.bayharborgolf.com/index.html)__   [#image: /photos/55ada0b7add713143b43cba2]|||quality of course||| [#image: /photos/55ada0b7add713143b43cba6]|||course conditions||| [#image: /photos/55ada0bdb01eefe207f80cbb]|||reputation/prestige||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c1b01eefe207f80cc4]|||practice facilities||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c1add713143b43cbb2]|||speed of play||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c1b01eefe207f80cc1]|||clubhouse||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c1add713143b43cbb6]|||accomodations||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c1b01eefe207f80cc6]|||Golf Pro Shop||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c2b01eefe207f80ccc]|||food/dining||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c2add713143b43cbbf]|||activities/anemities||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c2b01eefe207f80cd0]|||service||| [#image: /photos/55ada0c2add713143b43cbc2]|||overall value|||Total   8.80 8.87 8.87 8.27 7.91 8.42 8.74 8.48 8.49 8.44 8.27 7.24 86.47 __39.__ __[GC at Ballantyne Resort, Charlotte, N.C.](http://www.theballantynehotel.com)__   8.67 8.48 8.70 8.89 8.07 8.69 9.23 8.74 8.85 8.76 8.59 8.11 86.44 __40.__ __[World Woods GC, Brooksville, Fla.](http://www.worldwoods.com/fw/main/Home-1.html)__   9.39 8.97 9.13 9.42 7.92 7.09 6.64 7.94 6.59 6.19 8.16 8.78 86.34 __41.__ __[Mariott's Shadow Ridge Resort, Palm Desert, Calif.](http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/ctdsr-marriotts-shadow-ridge-i-the-villages/?ptnr=mv_resorts_olympiatextlink/)__   8.76 8.62 8.05 8.75 8.00 8.21 9.28 8.43 8.37 8.69 8.43 7.67 86.12 __42.__ __[The Dunes Golf & Beach Club, Myrtle Beach, S.C.](http://www.thedunesclub.net/)__   8.93 8.69 8.98 7.89 7.67 8.19 8.66 8.08 8.07 8.46 8.02 7.94 86.04 __43.__ __[Turtle Bay Golf, Kahuku, Hawaii](http://www.turtlebayresort.com/)__   8.61 8.83 9.00 7.28 8.00 7.60 8.63 8.17 8.47 8.78 8.61 7.61 86.03 __44.__ __[Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Fla.](http://www.bayhill.com/fw/main/Home-1.html)__   8.72 8.47 9.24 8.42 8.06 8.47 8.42 8.64 8.40 8.67 8.57 8.00 85.86 __45.__ __[Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, Acme, Mich.](http://www.grandtraverseresort.com/)__   8.71 8.83 8.70 8.27 7.29 8.14 8.73 8.79 8.48 8.70 8.17 7.50 85.81 __46.__ __[Harbour Town GL/Sea Pines Plantation, Hilton Head Island](http://www.seapines.com/golf/harbour_town_golf.cfm)__   8.88 8.42 9.20 7.71 7.39 8.10 8.93 8.39 8.27 8.60 8.30 7.36 85.76 __47.__ __[Grand Cypress GC, Orlando, Fla.](http://www.grandcypress.com/)__   8.45 8.71 8.37 8.57 7.33 8.20 9.22 8.69 8.40 8.88 8.45 7.90 85.49 __47.__ __[Indian Wells Golf Resort, Indian Wells, Calif.](http://www.indianwells.com/)__   8.70 8.65 8.26 8.04 7.83 8.22 8.82 8.29 8.28 8.29 8.43 7.83 85.49 __49.__ __[Barton Creek Resort & CC, Austin, Texas](http://www.bartoncreek.com/)__   8.59 8.70 8.62 7.64 7.54 8.34 8.85 8.24 8.44 8.77 8.35 8.00 85.46 __50.__ __[Kauai Lagoons GC, Lihue, Hawaii](http://golf.marriott-vacations.com/leisure/golf-courses/kauai-lagoons-golf-club/default.jsp)__   8.55 8.63 8.32 8.05 7.68 8.06 9.06 8.25 8.44 8.89 8.52 8.00 85.45