U.S. Open

Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2)


Couples, Norman Returning As Captains

March 31, 2010

Greg Norman and Fred Couples were captains for last year's Presidents Cup.

HUMBLE, Texas (AP) -- Fred Couples and Greg Norman are returning as captains for the 2011 Presidents Cup in Australia, the only place where the International team has won.

It will be the third time since the Presidents Cup began in 1994 that captains served in successive matches. Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player were captains for three straight Presidents Cups.

Couples led the American team to 19½-14½ victory at Harding Park in San Francisco last year.

The Presidents Cup will be played next year at Royal Melbourne. The matches last were played there in 1998, when the International team won, 20½-11½.

The United States leads the series, 6-1-1.