The Loop

GCAA names Academic National Champions

September 01, 2009

National championships are usually claimed at the end of the season, but a group of schools earned big titles today when the Golf Coaches Association of America announced its inaugural "Academic" National Champions awards from the 2008-09 year.

Winning top honors among the men's programs were:

NJCAA D-I: McLennan CC



"Our players take their classwork seriously, and certainly exemplify the 'student' part of being an NCAA student-athlete," said ETSU men's coach Fred Warren, whose squad (above) earned a 3.78 GPA. I am proud of our your men not only for their hard work and dedication to their academic responsibilities, but also for their time-management skills. This award means a lot to our team, and we are honored to be this year's recipient."

Below is a list of all the men's programs that earned GCAA All-Academic Team honors (3.0 GPA or higher). All schools with an * had GPAs of 3.5 or higher.

Division I

Akron                                                    Kentucky

Ball State                                              Longwood

Baylor                                                    Louisville

Belmont*                                               LSU

BYU                                                        Miami (Ohio)

California                                             Middle Tennessee State

Charlotte                                               Northwestern

Coastal Carolina                                  Ohio

Columbia                                              Rice*

Connecticut                                          San Francisco

Davidson                                              Seton Hall*

Detroit Mercy*                                     South Alabama

East Carolina*                                     South Carolina

East Tennessee State*                        South Dakota State

Evansville                                             Stanford

Florida                                                  Tennessee

Georgia                                                 Texas Pan-American

Georgia Tech*                                      Tulsa

Gonzaga                                               UC-Santa Barbara

Houston Baptist                                   Vanderbilt

Illinois                                                    Wake Forest

Iowa                                                        Wofford


Division II



Georgia College



St. Mary's (Texas)*

Saginaw Valley State

Division III

Albion                                                   Maryville of St. Louis

Benedictine                                          UMass Dartmouth

Carneigie Mellon                                Millikin

Claremont McKenna                          Milwaukee School of Engineering

DePauw                                                 Nichols College

Emory                                                     Saint John's (Minn.)

Fort Lewis                                             Trinity

Gustavus Adolphus*                           Wartburg

Hope                                                       Wheaton

Luther                                                     Wisconsin-Stout



Ohio Dominican*

St. Ambrose

Savannah College of Art and Design*

The Master's College


Eastern Arizona College

Frank Phillips College

McLennan Community College


Darton College

Tyler JC