News & Tours
May 14, 2010

Feinstein's latest takes on a foursome of unlikely champs

From A Good Walk Spoiled to The Majors, John Feinstein's golf books have succeeded in giving equal billing to headliners and journeymen. The Golf Digest and Golf World contributor's most recent effort, Moment of Glory: The Year Underdogs Ruled Golf, details the year the journeymen were the headliners.

The book, which came out this week, is an account of the 2003 season that saw the group of Mike Weir (Masters), Jim Furyk (U.S. Open), Ben Curtis (British Open), and Shaun Micheel (PGA Championship) walk away with the four major championships.

Throw in runner-ups that year that included unheralded challengers like Len Mattiace and Stephen Leaney, and it's tempting to say that season was one of the worst in major championship history, with not a Tiger Woods or Phil Mickelson anywhere in sight (or at least not really). But Feinstein's genius is his ability to peel back several layers on the personalities involved that year, reminding you in the process that even the most obscure players have a story worth telling.

*-- Sam Weinman *

You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade to Internet Explorer 11 or use a different web browser.