RBC Heritage

Harbour Town Golf Links

The Loop

Fantasy Fix: Our picks for the Wells Fargo Championship

April 30, 2014

After some unfortunate conditions last year, it seems like the green is back in Quail Hollow's "Green Mile" and a star-studded field returns as well to the Wells Fargo Championship. Who do we see emerging from the pack in Charlotte? Our weekly fantasy lineup:

Starters -- (A-List): Phil Mickelson. Rickie Fowler let us down in this spot last week, but we still almost used him again. We decided to take a gamble on Mickelson since we haven't started him once in 2013-14. The risk is all health-related. Phil has finished in the top five here in five of his 10 starts.

(B-List): Rory McIlroy. With a win and a runner-up at this event, McIlroy is an 8-to-1 favorite, according to Golfodds.com. He also owns the course record with a 62, which came in the final round of 2010 when he picked up his first PGA Tour title.

(B-List): Jim Furyk. The Grinder has gone T-6, T-14, and T-7 his last three starts. In his last eight starts in Charlotte, he has four top 10s.


(C-List): Seung-Yul Noh. Last week's winner finished T-9 here in 2012. The victory in New Orleans was only his second top 10 of the season, but he also hasn't missed a cut since October.

Bench/Backups: Rickie Fowler, Justin Rose, Webb Simpson, and Nick Watney.

Knockout/One-and-done pick: Rory McIlroy. Rory not having a win yet in 2014 is disappointing, but he's played better than most people realize with top 10s in four of his five stroke-play starts. Birthday girl Lydia Ko won on the LPGA Tour last week and we're feeling a similar result coming from McIlroy, who will turn 25 on Sunday. After a rough couple weeks of picks, we're willing to personally sing to him if he comes through.

Previously used: Keegan Bradley (Doral), Tim Clark (Sony), Graham DeLaet (Phoenix), Luke Donald (Valspar), Rickie Fowler (Honda Classic), Jim Furyk (Heritage), Bill Haas (Farmers), Billy Horschel (Zurich), Charles Howell III (Humana), Freddie Jacobson (Valero), Dustin Johnson (Northern Trust), Martin Laird (Kapalua), Graeme McDowell (Bay Hill), Adam Scott (Masters), Jordan Spieth (Houston), Jimmy Walker (Pebble -- winner!).