Mexico Open at Vidanta

Vidanta Vallarta

The Loop

Fantasy Fix: Do the golf gods owe Hunter Mahan in Canada?

July 23, 2014

The last time Royal Montreal held the RBC Canadian Open it was the Bell Canadian Open. The year was 2001, and Scott Verplank was the winner (Royal Montreal also hosted the 2007 Presidents Cup). In other words, looking back isn't going to help much. Instead, we'll focus more on current form. Oh, and you're welcome for those Rory and Sergio picks for the British Open. We'll try to keep the momentum going with this week's fantasy lineup:

Starters -- (A-List): Matt Kuchar. We pick him almost every other week (although we're running dangerously close to using up all his starts). Why not here?

(B-List): Jim Furyk. Fresh off a fourth-place finish at the British Open, Furyk missed the cut the last time he teed it up at Royal Montreal. However, that was 17 years ago. We'll weigh his two other wins in this tournament more heavily.

(B-List): Hunter Mahan. You probably remember Mahan hastily leaving this tournament last year despite holding the 36-hole lead to be with his wife, Kandi, who was having the couple's first child. The golf gods owe him this week, don't they?


(C-List): Graeme McDowell. G-Mac's last three tournaments? T-6 at the Irish Open, a win at the French Open and a T-9 at the British Open. This is another OPEN.

Bench/Backups: Brandt Snedeker, Graham DeLaet, Jerry Kelly, Charl Schwartzel.

Knockout/One-and-done pick: Hunter Mahan. Two words: golf gods.

Previously used: Keegan Bradley (Doral), Tim Clark (Sony), Jason Day (Congressional), Graham DeLaet (Phoenix), Luke Donald (Valspar), Rickie Fowler (Honda Classic), Jim Furyk (Heritage), Sergio Garcia (British Open), Bill Haas (Farmers), Charley Hoffman (Travelers), Billy Horschel (Zurich), Charles Howell III (Humana), Freddie Jacobson (Valero), Dustin Johnson (Northern Trust), Zach Johnson (Colonial), Matt Kuchar (U.S. Open), Martin Laird (Kapalua), Graeme McDowell (Bay Hill), Ryan Palmer (Memphis), Justin Rose (Memorial), Adam Scott (Masters), Jordan Spieth (Houston), Henrik Stenson (Players), Jimmy Walker (Pebble -- winner!), Gary Woodland (Nelson).