Mexico Open at Vidanta

Vidanta Vallarta

The Loop

Byeong-hun An tops Anirban Lahiri and Matt Fitzpatrick in historic Rookie of the Year race

December 04, 2015

PGA Tour players had a tough choice between Daniel Berger and Justin Thomas when it came time to pick this season's Rookie of the Year. However, it was nothing compared to the decision faced by those voting for the European Tour's version.

Once again, it was a virtual toss-up, only this time, the race involved three rookies, all of whom had more impressive credentials on their respective tour than those produced by winner Berger and runner-up Thomas. Byeong-hun An wound up winning the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Award, which is determined by three votes -- one from the European Tour CEO, one from the R&A CEO, and one from the media -- to become the first Asian to do so and end a two-year run of American winners (Brooks Koepka and Peter Uihlein).