News & ToursAugust 16, 2015

Bubba Watson vs. anthill. Who you got?

HAVEN, Wis. -- Bubba Watson is not in contention at the 2015 PGA Championship. But his final round has been full of adventure.

On the 326-yard par-5 sixth, Watson drove the green, converting the putt for the hole's first eagle of the week.

However, the real highlight of Watson's round (so far, that is) happened on the hole before. Watson's shot went into an anthill, to which the two-time Masters champ sought relief, on the grounds that it was borrowing soil.

Alas, a rules official told Watson the area in question was classified as loose impediments, which doesn't grant a free drop. Watson proceeded to drop some wisdom, saying, "So even though they dig in the ground, they're not considered burrowing?"

Say what you want about Watson, the man has a point.

Watson didn't let the matter pass without getting the final jab:

It's always something with this cat.

Follow @JoelMBeall


WATCH: GOLF DIGEST VIDEOS

More from The Loop