The Loop

28 picked for Ben Hogan Award watch list

February 08, 2012

Twenty-eight collegians from all divisions of college golf were selected by the GCAA for inclusion on the 2012 Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The award goes to the top men's college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period. (Full disclosure, I'm on the committee that helped select the players.)

One of last year's finalists is on the 2012 list: UCLA's Patrick Cantlay. Three semifinalist from a year ago also appear: Cantlay, Auburn's__Blayne Barber__ and Stanford's Andrew Yun.

A group of 10 semifinalists will be selected April 11 with three finalists then invited to attend the Hogan Award ceremony at Colonial CC in Fort Worth on May 21.

The award is sponsored by Baird Private Wealth Management in association with the Friends of Golf, Colonial CC and the GCAA.

Blayne Barber, Auburn

Sean Dale, North Florida

Derek Ernst, UNLV

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga

Brooks Koepka, Florida State

Jace Long, Missouri

Corbin Mills, Clemson

Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington

Thomas Pieters, Illinois

Patrick Rodgers, Stanford

Kyle Souza, Chico State

Jordan Spieth, Texas

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Ethan Tracy, Arkansas

Harold Varner, East Carolina

T.J. Vogel, Florida

James White, Georgia Tech

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Chris Williams, Washington

Eugene Wong, Oregon

Andrew Yun, Stanford