Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches

PGA National (Champion Course)

The Loop

26 players named to Hogan Award Watch List

February 19, 2011

Twenty-six collegians from all divisions of college golf were selected by the GCAA for inclusion on the 2011 Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The award goes to the top men's college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period. (Full disclosure, I'm on the committee that helped select the players.)

Two of last year's finalists are on the 2011 list: Alabama's Bud Cauley and Georgia's Russell Henley. U.S. Amateur champion__Peter Uihlein__ of Oklahoma State and runner-up David Chung of Stanford are other honorees.

A group of 10 semifinalists will be selected April 14 with three finalists then invited to attend the Hogan Award ceremony at Colonial CC in Fort Worth on May 16.

The award is sponsored by Baird Private Wealth Management in association with the Friends of Golf, Colonial CC and the GCAA.


(in alphabetical order)


Blayne Barber, Auburn

Bud Cauley, Alabama

Alex Ching, San Diego

David Chung, Stanford

Harris English, Georgia

J.T. Griffin, Georgia Tech

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Russell Henley, Georgia

Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State

Bobby Hudson, Texas

Vince India, Iowa

Lion Kim, Michigan

Scott Langley, Illinois

Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna

Gregor Main, UCLA

Henrik Norlander, Augusta State

Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine

Patrick Reed, Augusta State

Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

Bank Vongvanij, Florida

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Andrew Yun, Stanford