Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches

PGA National (Champion Course)


2021 Sony Open in Hawaii tee times, TV coverage, viewer's guide

January 12, 2021
Sony Open In Hawaii - Round Three

Australia's Cameron Smith is looking to become only the fifth player to successfully defend his Sony Open title in the 57-year history of the tournament.

Sam Greenwood

The second stop on the PGA Tour’s two-week Hawaiian swing brings players to Honolulu for the Sony Open in Hawaii. Thirty-two of the 42 golfers who competed last week at the Sentry Tournament of Champions—including winner Harris English—are making the short flight from Maui to Oahu to play in the first full-field event of 2021.

Waialae Country Club, a Seth Raynor design, has been home to the tournament since 1965. Since that time, the event has had an impressive list of winners, including Hall of Famers Lee Trevino, Jack Nicklaus, Ben Crenshaw, Hale Irwin, Lanny Wadkins, Mark O’Meara, Ernie Els and Vijay Singh.

Australia’s Cameron Smith won in 2020, his second career PGA Tour title after teaming with Jonas Blixt to win the 2017 Zurich Classic of New Orleans. Smith, 27, defeated Brendan Steele in a playoff. He’s trying to become just the fifth player to successfully defend his title, the last being Jimmy Walker in 2014-15.

Among the notable storylines this week is Hawaii native Evan Kawai, a redshirt sophomore at the University of San Diego. The former state amateur champion is playing in his first PGA Tour event after winning a qualifier in November.

The winner will receive 500 FedEx Cup points and a $1.188 million share of the $6.6 million purse.

TV/Streaming Schedule

Golf Channel will carry live coverage from Thursday through Saturday from 7 p.m.-10:30 p.m. ET, and on Sunday from 4-8 p.m. ET.

PGA Tour Radio will have live coverage from 5-10:30 p.m. ET on Thursday-Saturday and from 3-8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Leader board

Find all live PGA Tour scoring data here.

Tee Times

Sunday/Final round (all times EST)

First Tee

1:20 p.m. -- Sergio Garcia, Kevin Kisner, Cameron Davis

1:30 p.m. -- Ryan Palmer, Hudson Swafford, Lanto Griffin

1:40 p.m. -- Carlos Ortiz, Kramer Hickok, Ryan Armour

1:50 p.m. -- Mark Hubbard, Brendon Todd, Michael Thompson

2 p.m. -- Jason Kokrak, James Hahn, Matt Jones

2:10 p.m. -- Vaughn Taylor, Mackenzie Hughes, Si Woo Kim

2:20 p.m. -- Patton Kizzire, Nick Hardy, Collin Morikawa

2:30 p.m. -- Webb Simpson, Anirban Lahiri, Robby Shelton

2:40 p.m. -- Billy Horschel, Aaron Baddeley, Hideki Matsuyama

2:50 p.m. -- Daniel Berger, Marc Leishman, Nick Taylor

3 p.m. -- Chris Kirk, Stewart Cink, Keith Mitchell

3:10 p.m. -- Peter Malnati, Charley Hoffman, Russell Henley

3:20 p.m. -- Brendan Steele, Kevin Na, Joaquin Niemann

10th tee

1:20 p.m. -- Brice Garnett, Harris English, Sepp Straka

1:30 p.m. -- Kyoung-Hoon Lee, Charles Howell III, Cameron Smith

1:40 p.m. -- K.J. Choi, Mike Weir, Austin Cook

1:50 p.m. -- Brian Harman, Jim Herman, Wesley Bryan

2 p.m. -- Brian Stuard, Pat Perez, Troy Merritt

2:10 p.m. -- Adam Scott, Jim Furyk, Emiliano Grillo

2:20 p.m. -- Harry Higgs, Scott Brown, Satoshi Kodaira

2:30 p.m. -- Nelson Ledesma, Brian Gay, Sebastián Muñoz

2:40 p.m. -- Sungjae Im, Zach Johnson, Jerry Kelly

2:50 p.m. -- Michael Kim, Chris Baker, Chez Reavie

3 p.m. -- Ryosuke Kinoshita, Martin Trainer

3:10 p.m. -- Robert Streb, Jamie Lovemark