Rules
May 26, 2016

17 golf rules you definitely need to know when playing in a tournament

Be A Stickler On The Rules

Be A Stickler On The Rules

You don't need to concede every putt, but lean towards the liberal side of the "pick it up" spectrum. Other winter rules to keep in mind: in the fairway, you can roll the ball; play out-of-bounds as lateral hazards; you can move the ball off a tree root; if you put it in the water, drop on the other side of the hazard.

Photo by: ImagesBazaar/Images Bazaar

ImagesBazaar/Images Bazaar

The difference between a leisurely round of golf and tournament play is stark; at times, it feels like it's an entirely different game. The pins aren't accessible. Those tee boxes that seem miles back? That's where you'll be teeing off from. Instead of jokes and breezy conversation, the mood is tense. Oh, and a tap-in putt seems a hell of a lot father than two feet.

And then there are the rules.

Most players abide by a reasonable -- some would say liberal -- interpretation of golf's laws. Every hazard is treated as a lateral, rocks are thrown out of bunkers, and gimme putts. SO many gimme putts. In short, a "winter rules" approach for the entire year.

Unfortunately, those rebellious ways don't fly in competition. The USGA rule book is the law for tournament play; it is absolute, without discussion. If it's your first time entering in an event, from as comfortable as a club championship to U.S. Open qualifying, you need to be well-versed on golf's legislation. And because there are so many golf rules, one could feel overwhelmed. Fear not: Here are the 17 golf rules you definitely need to know when playing in a tournament:

17 Golf Rules You Should Definitely Know

Count your clubs

Oh come on. No one would ever have more than 14 sticks in the bag, right?

Right?

Wrong.

Avoid the two-stroke penalty by double-checking your bag before teeing off.

Ball falls off tee

There's a shocking amount of players that aren't 100 percent sure what to do when this happens. Simple: You get to re-tee without penalty. (Exception: You've already whiffed on the first shot. If the ball then falls off, you have to play it as it lies.)

On the bright side, since things are a tad more serious in tournament play, you won't have the jamoke who chirps "One!" when your ball falls off the tee. I hate that guy.

advice.jpg

advice.jpg

People golfing

Photo by: Getty Images

Getty Images

Giving advice

On the weekend, you may ask your friend what iron they just hit, or, while on the green, point to a spot and say, "I think this is the line." While such behavior is standard in a normal round, it's deemed illegal in competitive play. The penalty is two strokes. (Exception: In a team match, you and your partner, as well as respective caddies, can discuss strategy.)

The difference between water and lateral hazards

A water hazard is marked in yellow, lateral in red. If you aren't going to attempt to play from the hazard -- and unless you have a clean shot, we advise you don't -- you are facing a one-shot penalty.

For a water hazard, a player has three options:

ball-in-water.jpg

ball-in-water.jpg

Golfer searching for ball in pond

Photo by: Getty Images

Getty Images

A lateral hazard is slightly different. Like with yellow stakes, you have to identify where the ball crossed into the hazard. However, you are given a two clubs length area to drop. You can also go on the other side of the hazard -- assuming no closer to the hole -- and drop there as well.

Improving your lie or position by moving growing things

Your ball comes to rest under a tree, and it appears you have a shot. Only problem is a pesky limb interfering with your backswing. No worries; you can break that branch off, yes?

Nope: You cannot improve the position or lie of your ball. This includes moving or bending anything growing or fixed in the realm of your envisioned swing.

Beach rules

The two biggest infractions in the sand are grounding your club and moving impediments from the bunker. This pains me to bring up, but my high school coach made me call both infractions on a competitor in a match: He chunked his first bunker shot, causing him to slam his club in disgust. He then threw out a few rocks around his ball before attempting his next shot, both violations. If you thought he was mad then, you should have saw his face after I sheepishly told him about said offenses.

sand-angel.jpg

sand-angel.jpg

A golfer doing sand angels in a sand trap.

Photo by: Getty Images

Getty Images

In a related note, we are not Facebook friends.

Rake in bunker

This is another area that causes confusion, but if your ball comes to rest against a rake, you are allowed to move the tool, as the USGA defines it as a "movable obstruction."

Tapping down your putts

This doesn't come up as much anymore, as many players wear softless spikes. Nevertheless, you'll occasionally come across spike marks on the green and be tempted to press them down. DON'T: That act constitutes a two-stroke penalty.

lost-ball.jpg

lost-ball.jpg

Mature man getting golf ball out of reeds on golf course

Photo by: Getty Images

Getty Images

Lost ball time

You have five minutes to search for a ball. The clock begins when you start looking, not after you've hit your shot. After five minutes, the ball is considered lost.

Announcing the provisional

Confession: I love the word "reload." It turns an unfortunate event -- the prospect of a lost ball -- into a course of action. Without checking Webster's, I think reload's etymology stems from Clint Eastwood movies. "I'm out of juice. Time to reload; fire in the hole!" Hard to believe I went so long being single.

Alas, saying "reload" does not constitute proper procedure, according to the USGA. A player must announce "I am hitting a provisional" to competitors. You must abandon your provisional ball if your original isn't lost or out-of-bounds, or you determine that it's in a water hazard:

Conversely, anytime you hit a great provisional shot, you might not want to find your original ball. If someone finds it before you play a shot with the provisional, the first ball is the one you must play.

Relief from cart paths, ground under repair, immovable objects

Most players understand they get help in such scenarios. In that same vein, most don't know the proper way to push ahead. You take your stance, from there getting one club length of relief. The new spot has to be without interference from what caused the drop. From the USGA: "For example, if the ball lies on a cart path, the ball must be dropped at a point where the cart path does not interfere with the lie of the ball, his stance, and also the area of intended swing. If the ball comes to rest in such a position, it must be re-dropped."

unplayable.jpg

unplayable.jpg

Man searching for a golf ball

Photo by: Getty Images/Uppercut

Getty Images/Uppercut

Unplayable lie

Unlike above, your point of drop doesn't start from a place without interference. You have three options:

I found No. 2 out the hard way after my ball went under a pine tree in a tournament. What that pine tree was doing in the middle of a fairway is beyond me. (Although, it wasn't the fairway I was supposed to be on, but semantics.) I couldn't get to my ball, so decided to go with two-clubs length option, only to discover I'd still be under the pine tree. Ten years later, I'm still washing the sap off my neck.

Order of play

This mainly comes up in match play, but whoever is farthest away from the hole is up. And if someone breaks that order, a competitor is allowed to cancel the shot, forcing them to replay it.

But this comes with a caveat: Unless it's an egregious offense, don't call this on a competitor. Unless you want their putter tomahawked into your windshield after the round.

Phil-Mickelson-Zach-Johnson.jpg

Phil-Mickelson-Zach-Johnson.jpg

INCHEON CITY, SOUTH KOREA - OCTOBER 06: Zach Johnson (L) and Phil Mickelson of the United States team chat on the practice ground prior to the start of The Presidents Cup at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club on October 6, 2015 in Incheon City, South Korea. (Photo by Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images)

Photo by: Getty Images

Getty Images

One-ball condition

This is rare: You usually only see this in professional tournaments, most recently when Phil Mickelson was dinged for using two different types of makes at the Presidents Cup. That said, I've been in club championships before where this popped up, sending people scrambling to the pro shop.

Sprinkler heads

This falls under the immovable object umbrella, but happens so often that it deserves its own section. Relief is granted from sprinkler heads only if your ball, intended stance, or swing is interfered with. Line of play isn't covered, meaning if you're putting from the fringe through a sprinkler towards the green, well, you might want to break out a wedge.

ID-golf-ball.jpg

ID-golf-ball.jpg

Mid adult couple searching a golf ball in bush

Photo by: Getty Images/iStockphoto

Getty Images/iStockphoto

Identifying your ball

Buried in the rough and can't tell if it's your ball? You are allowed to lift the ball for ID purposes. From the USGA: "The player must announce his intention to lift the ball to an opponent, fellow-competitor or marker, and mark the position of the ball. He may then lift the ball and identify it, provided that he gives his opponent, marker or fellow-competitor an opportunity to observe the lifting and replacement."

Flagstick

Your group has made it to the green; the hole is almost behind you. And, look at that, your ball has come to rest just inches from the pin. You're so excited that you brush it in without thought, walking off the green thinking you just made birdie.

Except, the pin was in, and you hit it. That drops your score from a bird to a bogey and sinks your heart into your stomach.

Overdoing It With The Amount Of Golf

Overdoing It With The Amount Of Golf

This is the "eyes are bigger than your stomach" corollary. In one sense, you want to maximize this precious time. Conversely, if you've only played four rounds of golf the entire year, it's not constructive to your body or psyche to rack up 144 holes in four days. By all means, get as much golf in as you can, but keep in mind the ramifications of such mileage. Speaking of which . . .

Photo by: AfriceImages/iStock

AfriceImages/iStock

Other violations include hitting a pin that has been taken out and lying past the hole, or if you purposefully leave the flag in while attending it to cause a penalty on your opponent.

Most tournaments have rules officials on site, and all golfers should have a copy of the USGA rules book in their bag for more intricate situations and rulings. But the aforementioned points serve as the foundation for the obstacles you'll likely encounter during tournament play. Now you can put your rules apprehension to rest, knowing your equipped to handle whatever the course, and your competitors, throw at you.


You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade to Internet Explorer 11 or use a different web browser.