Genesis Invitational

Riviera Country Club

News Tour player fires headcover at caddie who was called for costly penalty on final hole

January 24, 2018

A second consecutive strong start for Rhein Gibson on the Tour was marred by an ugly incident involving his caddie on the final hole.

Needing a birdie to tie on a closing par 5 in Wednesday's final round of the Bahamas Great Abaco Classic, Gibson found a hazard with his second shot. Gibson's ball was eventually found and he took a drop, but he was assessed an additional penalty because an official ruled his temporary caddie, Brandon Davis, picked it up while it was still in play. Golf Channel cameras caught the action as a visibly upset Gibson chipped his fifth shot to tap-in range, grabbed his putter, and fired the headcover off of Davis' chest. You can watch the clip below:

"It was just in the heat of the moment. I'm obviously playing well and I put myself in a great position, but when that happens it (could) cost me upwards of 15 or 18 thousands dollars," Gibson told the Australian Associated Press after.

The extra shot gave Gibson a bogey and knocked him from T-2 to solo third. Gibson finished T-3 in the Tour's season opener last week with Davis on the bag. Adam Svensson won the event, while last week's winner, 19-year-old Sungjae Im, finished runner-up.

"Hopefully, at the end of the [season] it doesn't cost me a [PGA] Tour card," added Gibson, a 31-year-old from Australia who played full time on the PGA Tour in 2016. "We're not playing for that much money out here."

Gibson also apologized to Davis on Twitter:

But Davis also took to Twitter to make his case that he didn't make a mistake and that Gibson shouldn't have been docked an extra shot:

Regardless, it doesn't appear these two will be working together again anytime soon.